Public Charitable Collections

A Public Charitable Collection means a collection of money, for  charitable purposes, from the public taken either in a public place or by means of visits from place to place (e.g. house to house).

A “public place” is one where the public has unlimited access e.g. the street but does not include supermarkets/shops etc. If you wish to collect in these places you must first obtain permission from the management responsible for the place in which you want to collect.

“Charitable purposes” are any charitable, benevolent or philanthropic purposes.
The taking of money from members of the public in the street, road or other thoroughfare is usually known as a “Flag Day”.

For further information please refer to the Guidance Notes (21kb pdf).

There is no fee associated with requesting permission to hold a collection.
Applicants must complete the Application Form (46kb pdf) | Returns Form (48kb pdf) and submit it to the relevant Licensing Office within the area in which they are to collect. A list of these offices are detailed below. 

An application must be:

  • In writing
  • Be signed by the applicant.
  • Made no later than 28 days before the proposed collection

Area Contacts

Caithness Area

Iona Cook/Geraldine Sutherland
Highland Council
Government Buildings
Girnigoe Street
Wick
KW1 4HW
Tel: (01955) 609508
e-mail: geraldine.sutherland@highland.gov.uk / iona.cook@highland.gov.uk

Inverness Area

Michael Elsey/Wilma Adam,
Highland Council,
Town House,
Inverness,
IV1 1JJ.
Tel: (01463) 785098
e-mail: michael.elsey@highland.gov.uk / wilma.adam@highland.gov.uk

Lochaber Area

Julie Traynor,
Highland Council
Lochaber House,
High Street,
Fort William.
PH33 6EL.
Tel: (01397) 707233
e-mail: julie.traynor@highland.gov.uk

Nairn and Badenoch and Strathspey Area

Susan Grant/Ann Grant,
Highland Council,
The Court House,
Nairn,
IV12 4DP.
Tel: (01667) 458516
e-mail: susan.grant@highland.gov.uk /  ann.grant@highland.gov.uk


Ross and Cromarty Area

Linda Hay/Angela Mair,
Highland Council,
High Street,
Dingwall,
IV15 9QN.
Tel: (01349) 868579
e-mail: linda.hay@highland.gov.uk / angela.mair@highland.gov.uk


Skye and Lochalsh Area

Carol Nicholson,
Highland Council,
Tigh Na Sqire,
Park Lane,
Portree,
IV51 9GP.
Tel: (01478) 613824
e-mail: carol.nicolson@highland.gov.uk


Sutherland Area

Lisa Donaldson,
Highland Council,
Market Square,
Wick,
KW1 4AB
Tel: (01955) 607705
e-mail: lisa.donaldson@highland.gov.uk