About Beinn Tharsuinn

Beinn Tharsuinn Windfarm Community Limited is a Charitable Company Limited by Guarantee, with no issued share capital. It has one member, the Highland Council. No profit or surplus is distributed to the sole member from the company's ongoing operations.

The objects for which the company was established are

- To provide or assist in the provision of finance to community groups which must benefit the community within a 15km radius of the Beinn Tharsuinn Windfarm and which must demonstrate community support and long term sustainability, in particular, without prejudice to the said generality provided that the finance is used only for charitable purposes and NOT for any of the following purposes.
 - Political, religious, entertainment or hospitality purposes
 - Any purpose adverse to CRE's interest in the windfarm, CRE or its parent company or companies
 - To finance or replace any service that the Council is obliged to provide
 - The purposes of acquiring or assisting in the acquisition of any part of the Windfarm site
- 2. If an application for such finance has been made by a community group which satisfies the foregoing and that application has been approved by a Community Council established in the terms of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 as amended and representing a community within the said 15m radius and there are sufficient funds to satisfy the whole amount applied for by the said application available from the proportion of funds which the Company hold in respect of the said Community Council's area at the time that the application item is placed before the Company's Board of Directors at a Board meeting then the application will be granted provided that if the said proportion of funds held by the Company in respect of that Community council's area is insufficient to pay out all the sums applied for in the said approved application or if there is more than one approved application from the same Community Council placed before the same Board meeting and there is insufficient funds in the proportion of funds held by the Company in respect of that Community Council's area to pay out all the sums applied for or if an application(s) before the Board has been approved by more than one community council then the Board will decide at their discretion which approved applications and what funding the said applications will receive from the proportion of funds held in respect of the respective areas of the community councils which have approved the said applications.

Community Groups wishing to apply for funding should use the application form and return it to the appropriate Community Council Secretary.

The Board of Directors comprises representatives of the ten beneficiary communities. These are Alness, Ardgay, Ardross, Creich, Dornoch, Edderton, Invergordon, Kilmuir and Logie Easter, Kiltearn and Tain. Each Community also has the option to nominate an Alternate Director to attend the Board meeting should their director not be available to attend.

The current directors are as follows:

Alister Ferguson – Alness
Robert Pope – Ardgay
Peter Allen – Ardross
John Edmondson – Ardross (Alternate)
Norman Macdonald – Creich
Peter Campbell – Creich (Alternate)
Paddy Murray – Dornoch
Ewen Simpson – Edderton
Donald Clarke – Edderton (Alternate)
Tina McCaffrey – Invergordon
George Porter – Invergordon (Alternate)
Rita Fenton – Kilmuir and Logie Easter
Ralph Mercer - Kiltearn
David Macdonald – Tain

The company can be contacted at:-

Alex Macmanus
Company Secretary
Beinn Tharsuinn Windfarm Community Limited
c/o Highland Council Offices
Caithness House
Market Place
Wick
KW1 4AB

3rd August 2017