Crofting Commission Elections Thursday 16 March 2017

Elections are held every five years to elect six board members to the Crofting Commission. Each croft is entitled to one vote, with crofters of multiple crofts having only one vote.

The electoral area is divided into six constituencies, and each constituency must elect one member:

  • Shetland
  • Orkney and Caithness
  • East Highlands (East Sutherland, Easter Ross, East Inverness and Moray)
  • Western Isles
  • West Highlands (West Sutherland, Wester Ross. Skye and Lochalsh)
  • South West Highlands (Lochaber, Argyll and Bute, Arran and Cumbrae, Small Isles)

Malcolm Burr, Chief Executive of Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, has been appointed as Returning Officer for the Crofting Commission Elections which are scheduled to be held on 16 March 2017.

Following the close of nominations, an election will be held in the constituencies of the East Highlands; South West Highlands; West Highlands and Western Isles.  A statement of the candidates nominated to stand in each constiteuncy is available here.  Each contested constituency will be conducted by postal ballot, under the alternative vote system, with votes having to be returned by 4 pm on Thursday 16 March 2017.  The count will take place in the Town Hall, Point Street, Stornoway, Isle of Lewis HS1 2XF on Friday 17 March 2017 at 10 am.  

Further details can be obtained from the Comhairle’s Crofting Commission Election website   

Previous election results

Is there anything wrong with this page?