Minutes of Special Meeting of the Caithness Committee held in Mowat Room, Assembly Rooms, Wick on Monday 12th March 2007




Councillor David C. M. Flear (Convener of the Caithness Committee in the Chair)

Councillor William N. Fernie

Councillor John H. Green

Councillor Thomas C. Jackson

Councillor Alastair I. MacDonald

Councillor Donald M. Mackay

Councillor Roger Saxon

Councillor Graeme M. Smith


In Attendance:


Mr. Ian Hargrave, Caithness Area Manager

Mr. Iain Ewart, Area Planning and Building Standards Manager

Mrs. Katherine MacKintosh, Property Manager

Mrs. Fiona I. Sinclair, Area Solicitor/Administrator





Caithness Committee

(Chairman – David Flear, Convener)


1.  Apologies for Absence


Apologies for absence were intimated on behalf of Councillor Katrina MacNab and Councillor William Mowat



2.  Committee Meeting Venue


The Committee recalled that following the closure of Thurso Town Hall, the Area Committee meetings have continued to take place on the west of the County.  Thurso College was found to be an appropriate venue, but ceased to be available from December 2006.  The last meeting held in the west took place in the Ross Institute in Halkirk.  The Committee agreed that an appropriate venue for its meeting on 26th March would be the Drill Hall, Castletown and instructed officials to make appropriate arrangements.



3.  Exclusion of the Public


The Council resolved that, under Section 50A(4) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, the public be excluded from the meeting during discussion of the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraph 6 of Part 1 of Schedule 7A of the Act.    



4.  Wick Offices


There had been circulated report CC/52/07 dated 5th March, 2007, by the Director of Property and Architectural Services, inviting Members to note the compliant submissions, and one further expression of interest which had been received, in respect of the Wick Offices Development. 


The Committee noted the position and agreed that the developers who had made the compliant submissions be invited to meet with the Director of Property & Architectural Services, and members of the Project Team, to ensure that the developers are fully aware of the Council’s requirements and the procurement procedures under the Competitive Dialogue regime.  The Committee further agreed that the compliant developers be invited to submit Outline Solutions, and that Mr Hargrave, the newly appointed Corporate Manager will be the leader in relation to this project locally and will join the project team.