Inverness West By-Election Result (24/04/09)

Cllr Alasdair ChristieThe by-election for a councillor to serve the Inverness West Ward (No 14) on The Highland Council has been won by Mr Alasdair Christie, Liberal Democrat Focus Team.

Mr Christie was one of six candidates, who contested the vacancy, created by the death of Jimmy MacDonald (Independent).  The other two councillors serving Inverness West are Councillor Alex Graham, Liberal Democrat, and Councillor Pauline Munro, SNP.

Voting was by the single transferable vote and Mr Christie emerged as the winner at the first stage of the count, gaining 1,503 (59.6%) of the 2,522 valid first preference votes cast. 18 votes were rejected

The turn out was 38.35%.

The representation of the 80-member Council now is Independent, 29; Liberal Democrat, 22; SNP, 17; Labour, 7;  Independent Members’ Group, 5.

The other candidates were:

  • Donald Gunn MacDonald, Scottish Conservative & Unionist – 111 votes
  • George MacDonald, Solidarity – Scotland’s Socialist Movement – 27 votes
  • Andrew James MacKintosh, Scottish Labour Party Candidate – 210 votes;
  • Dr Sheila McLaughlan, Scottish Christian Party Proclaiming Christ’s Lordship – 115 votes
  • Brian ÓhEadhra, Scottish National Party (SNP) – 556 votes.


In This Section