Highland Junior Golf Championships at Spey Valley (15/10/10)

Hannah McCook (left) from Grantown Grammar with runner up Eleanor Tunn

A total of 42 young golfers from golf clubs in Highland and Moray took part in the eighth annual Highland Junior Golf Championships held at Spey Valley Golf Course, Aviemore, on Thursday 14 October.

Thurso High School and Forres Academy won the team events.
Ross Munro, Eleanor Tunn and Gregor Munro of Thurso High won the Highland team event for the Bruce Robertson Trophy with a net score of 210, ahead of Nairn Academy’s team of Sandy Scott, Andrew Burgess and Sean Burgess on 220.

Forres Academy won the Brian Anderson Shield for the best Moray school team with a net score of 237.  The winning Forres team was Andrew Thomson, Ross Proctor and Marc Dingwall.

Jordan Shaw of Kingussie High School won the Duncan Allan Quaich for recording the lowest boys' scratch score of 73.  Runner-up was Ross Proctor of Forres Academy with an 80 (better inward half). Third was Philip Schnier-Macrae, Fortrose Academy, with an 80.

Hannah McCook, Grantown Grammar, won the Grant Trophy for the best girls' scratch score, with a 76. Runner-up was Eleanor Tunn of Thurso High with 79.
The event was hosted and sponsored by Macdonald Aviemore Resort and the North Highland College UHI Millennium Institute and the prizes were presented by Councillor Sandy Park, Convener of The Highland Council.

Murray Urquhart, PGA Professional, at Spey Valley Golf Course, said: “Macdonald Aviemore  Resort are pleased to host the Highland Junior Golf Championships for the fifth year at Spey Valley.  I am delighted to see so many juniors return with improved performances this year.  The golf course is not getting any easier so they must be getting better.”
Alan Fleming, lecturer, at North Highland College UHI, said: “We are delighted to continue our involvement and support with this event.  It is great to see that the future of golf in the area continues to be strong.  Our golf management programme helps to support the development of talent in the golf industry both in the Highlands and nationally.  Spey Valley Golf Course is one of the industry leaders we have developed a relationship with and have previously placed students at.  This type of event helps to strengthen the links.”

Willie MacKay, Highland Junior Golf Manager,  said: “My thanks go to our sponsors and my congratulations go to the players for some outstanding scores, which included two eagles and 26 birdies. The  juniors made a tremendous impression on all with both their skill and general conduct on and off the course.”

The leading scores were:

Girls’ Scratch – The Grant Trophy:     1. Hannah McCook, Grantown Grammar, 76; 2.  Eleanor Tunn, Thurso High, 79.

Girls’ Handicap – The Sutherland Cup:  1. Eleanor Tunn, Thurso High, 73 net; 2. Annabelle Brown, Nairn Academy, 85.

Boys’ Scratch – The Duncan Allan Quaich:  1. Jordan Shaw, Kingussie High, 73; 2. Ross Proctor, Forres Academy, 80 (bih); 3. Philip Schnier-Macrae, Fortrose Academy, 80.

Boys’ Handicap (0-8) – The Skibo Trophy:  1. Andrew Burgess, Nairn Academy 73  2. Cameron Franssen, Culloden Academy 75 (bih); 3. Greg Bennett, Culloden Academy, 75.

Boys’ Handicap (9-16) – Highland clubgolf Trophy:  1. Ross Munro, Thurso High, 66; 2. Sandy Scott, Nairn Academy, 69; 3. Scott McEachan, Lochaber High, 71.

Highland School Team – Bruce Robertson Trophy:  1. Thurso High net 210 (Ross Munro, 66; Gregor Munro,71; Eleanor Tunn, 73).  2. Nairn Academy 220 (Sandy Scott, 69; Andrew Burgess, 73; Sean Burgess,78).

Moray Schools Team – Brian Anderson Shield:  1. Forres Academy  net 235  (Andrew Thomson, 76, Ross Proctor, 80, Marc Dingwall, 81).


In This Section