Members' Remuneration

These payments for the financial year 2012 / 2013 include a basic salary of £16,234 paid to all other councillors.

Where a councillor holds two office-bearing positions, he/she is paid only the higher of the two entitlements.

Members' Remuneration 2012/2013
from 4 May 2012
Salary (includes basic salary of £16, 234)
Leader of the Council £37,880
Depute Leader of the Council £28,410
Convener  £28,410
Vice Convener (2 posts) No payment
Finance, Housing and Resources Committee
Chair £24,480
Vice Chair No payment
Adult and Children's Services Committee
Chair £24,480
Vice Chair £19,962
Planning, Environment and Development Committee
Chair £24,480
Vice Chair £19,962
Transport, Environmental and Community Services Committee
Chair £24,480 
Vice Chair £19,962
Pensions Committee
Chair No payment
Community Safety, Public Engagement and Equalities Committee 
Chair £19,962
Audit and Scrutiny Committee  
Chair £19,962
Gaelic Implementation Group  
Chair No payment
Leader of the Opposition  £24,480
Leader - Inverness £24,480
Leader - Caithness and Sutherland £24,480
Leader - Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey No payment
Leader - Lochaber and Skye No payment
Leader - Ross and Cromarty No payment
North Planning Applications Committee (Wards 1-11)  
Chair TBC
South Planning Applications Committee (Wards 12-22)
Chair  TBC
Highland Licensing Committee/Board
Chair £19,962
Champions' Co-ordinator and Children's Champion £19,962
Total £405,794
Joint Boards  
Convener £28,410
Vice Convener £21,308
Convener £28,410
Vice Convener £21,308
Convener £20,294
Vice Convener £19,279