## **Crofting Commission Elections 2017**

## NOTICE OF ELECTION

In accordance with the provisions of the Crofting Commission (Elections) (Scotland) Regulations 2011, as amended, nominations are invited from persons seeking election as members of the Crofting Commission.

A person is qualified to be a candidate at an election if the person is -

- (a) aged 16 years or over; and
- (b) either -
  - (i) has his or her name entered in the Register of Crofts or registered in the Crofting Register as a crofter or owner-occupier crofter; or
  - (ii) has been nominated by an elector.

Additionally, a person must not be disqualified for any reason stated in the Regulations.

The Commission electoral area is divided into 6 constituencies, comprising the areas shown below (and described in the Schedule to the Regulations) and each such constituency must return one member only.

Constituency	Area
1	Shetland
2	Caithness and Orkney
3	East Highlands (East Sutherland, Easter Ross, East Inverness and Moray),
4	Western Isles
5	West Highlands (West Sutherland, Wester Ross, Skye and Lochalsh)
6	South West Highlands (Lochaber, Argyll and Bute, Arran and Cumbrae, Small Isles)

The Elections will take place in each constituency where more than one valid nomination is received.

Nomination forms and other documents relating to the election can be downloaded from the Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Website; obtained on request, by e-mail to <a href="mailto:elections@cne-siar.gov.uk">elections@cne-siar.gov.uk</a>; or from the Office of the relevant Depute Returning Officer at the undernoted Offices.

Constituency	Returning Officer Contact Details
Shetland	Shetland Islands Council, Corporate Services Department, Montfield, Burgh Road, Lerwick, SHETLAND, ZE1 OLA Tel: 01595 744066 e-mail: returning.officer@shetland.gov.uk
Caithness and Orkney	Election Office, Council Offices, School Place, Kirkwall, ORKNEY, KW15 1NY Tel: 01856873535 e-mail: electionoffice@orkney.gov.uk
	Election Office, The Highland Council, Caithness House, Market Place, Wick, KW1 4AB Tel: 01349 886657 e-mail: elections@highland.gov.uk

East Highlands (East Sutherland, Easter Ross, East Inverness and Moray)	Ward Managers Office, The Highland Council, Drummuie, Golspie, Sutherland, KW10 6TA Tel: 01349 886657 e-mail: elections@highland.gov.uk  Election Office, The Moray Council, Council Offices, High Street, ELGIN, IV30 1BX Tel: 01343 563334 e-mail: election.enquiries@moray.gov.uk
	Election Office, The Highland Council, Council Headquarters, Glenurquhart Road, Inverness, IV3 5NX. Tel: 01349 886657 e-mail: elections@highland.gov.uk
West Highlands (West Sutherland, Wester Ross. Skye and Lochalsh)	Election Office, The Highland Council, Council Headquarters, Glenurquhart Road, Inverness, IV3 5NX. Tel: 01349 886657 e-mail: elections@highland.gov.uk
	Ward Managers Office, The Highland Council, Tigh na Sgire, Park Lane, Portree, IV51 9GP Tel: 01349 886657 e-mail: elections@highland.gov.uk
South West Highlands (Lochaber, Argyll and Bute,	Election Office, Argyll and Bute Council, Kilmory, LOCHGILPHEAD, PA31 8RT Tel:- 01546 604401 e-mail: elections@argyll-bute.gov.uk
Arran and Cumbrae, Small Isles)	Chief Executives Office, The Highland Council, Lochaber House, High Street, Fort William, PH33 6EL. Tel: 01349 886657 e-mail: elections@highland.gov.uk
	Council Offices Sandwick Road, Stornoway, Isle of Lewis HS1 2BW Tel: 01851 822613 e-mail: elections@cne-siar.gov.uk
Western Isles	Council Offices Tarbert, Isle of Harris, HS3 3BG Tel: 01859 502367 e-mail: elections@cne-siar.gov.uk
	Council Offices Balivanich, Isle of Benbecula, HS7 5LA Tel: 01870 604880 e-mail: elections@cne-siar.gov.uk
	Council Offices Castlebay, Isle of Barra, HS9 5XD Tel: 01871 810431 e-mail: elections@cne-siar.gov.uk

Completed nomination forms should be submitted to the appropriate Election Office mentioned above and must be received not later than **Thursday 26 January 2017**.

An election will be held in each contested constituency by postal ballot, with votes having to be returned by 4.00pm on Thursday 16 March 2017. The count will take place in the Town Hall, Point Street, Stornoway, Isle of Lewis HS1 2XF on Friday 17 March 2017 at 10.00am.

Returning Officer Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Sandwick Road STORNOWAY Isle of Lewis HS1 2BW

5 January 2017