

Notice of Election The Highland Council Election of Councillors

Councillors are to be elected for each of the 21 wards of The Highland Council. The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is as follows:-

Name of Ward		Number of Councillors to be elected
Ward 1.	North, West and Central Sutherland	3
Ward 2.	Thurso and Northwest Caithness	4
Ward 3.	Wick and East Caithness	4
Ward 4.	East Sutherland and Edderton	3
Ward 5.	Wester Ross, Strathpeffer and Lochalsh	4
Ward 6.	Cromarty Firth	4
Ward 7.	Tain and Easter Ross	3
Ward 8.	Dingwall and Seaforth	4
Ward 9.	Black Isle	3
Ward 10.	Eilean a' Cheò	4
Ward 11.	Caol and Mallaig	3
Ward 12.	Aird and Loch Ness	4
Ward 13.	Inverness West	3
Ward 14.	Inverness Central	3
Ward 15.	Inverness Ness-side	3
Ward 16.	Inverness Millburn	3
Ward 17.	Culloden and Ardersier	3
Ward 18.	Nairn and Cawdor	4
Ward 19.	Inverness South	4
Ward 20.	Badenoch and Strathspey	4
Ward 21.	Fort William and Ardnamurchan	4

Nomination Forms can be downloaded from the Council's website: www.highland.gov.uk/slg22election or be obtained from The Highland Council Election Team by telephoning 01463 644440 or from the following Election Offices listed below.

These offices are open for the issue and delivery of nomination papers on weekdays (Monday to Friday), from 10am to 4pm.

Electoral Wards	Addresses of Election Office
All Wards	Linda Johnstone or Cheryl MacIver Depute Returning Officer, The Highland Council, Election Office, Committee Room 1, Council Headquarters, Glenurquhart Road, Inverness, IV3 5NX. Telephone No. 01463 644440

Electoral Wards	Addresses of Election Office
1 - North, West and Central Sutherland 4 - East Sutherland and Edderton	Phil Tomalin or Helen Ross Depute Returning Officer, The Highland Council, Communities and Place, Council Offices, DRUMMUIE, Golspie, KW10 6TA. Telephone No. 01408 635335
2 - Thurso and Northwest Caithness 3 - Wick and East Caithness	Katriona Green or MacKenzie Sutherland Depute Returning Officer, The Highland Council, Communities and Place, Caithness House, Market Place, WICK, KW1 4AB. Telephone No. 01955 608285
5 - Wester Ross, Strathpeffer and Lochalsh 6 - Cromarty Firth 7 - Tain and Easter Ross 8 - Dingwall and Seaforth 9 - Black Isle	Diane Agnew or Cairine MacIver, Depute Returning Officer, The Highland Council, Communities and Place, Council Offices, DINGWALL, IV15 9QN. Telephone No. 07932 999380
10 - Eilean a' Cheò	William Mackinnon or Carol Campbell, Depute Returning Officer, The Highland Council, Communities and Place, Council Offices, Tigh na Sgire, Park Road, PORTREE, IV51 8GP. Telephone No. 07825 116490
11 - Caol and Mallaig 21 - Fort William and Ardnamurchan	Dot Ferguson or Sarah McKeown, Depute Returning Officer, The Highland Council, Communities and Place, Charles Kennedy Building, Achintore Road, FORT WILLIAM, PH33 6RQ. Telephone No. 07899 067668
12 - Aird and Loch Ness 13 - Inverness West 14 - Inverness Central 15 - Inverness Ness-side 16 - Inverness Millburn 17 - Culloden and Ardersier 18 - Nairn and Cawdor 19 - Inverness South	Linda Johnstone or Cheryl MacIver Depute Returning Officer, The Highland Council, Election Office, Committee Room 1, Council Headquarters, Glenurquhart Road, INVERNESS, IV3 5NX. Telephone No. 01463 644440
20 - Badenoch and Strathspey	Liz Cowie or Lewis Hannah or Charles Stephen, Depute Returning Officer, The Highland Council, Communities and Place, Council Offices, Kingussie Courthouse, High Street, KINGUSSIE, PH21 1HR. Telephone No. 07899 671489

Completed nomination papers **MUST** be delivered to the appropriate Depute Returning Officer listed above by no later than 4pm on Wednesday 30 March 2022.

Prior to lodging papers Candidates and Agents may contact the appropriate Depute Returning Officer listed above by telephone to arrange an appointment to deliver nomination papers. Before the original documents are officially lodged by hand to the appropriate Depute Returning Officer, Candidates can scan and email their forms to election@highland.gov.uk for an informal check.

An election will be held in each contested ward and voting will take place between 7am and 10pm on **Thursday 5 May 2022.**

Applications to register to vote **must** reach the appropriate office of the Electoral Registration Officer by 12 midnight on Monday 18 April 2022.

Applications can be made online: https://www.gov.uk/register-to-vote.

Postal or Proxy Voting

Any elector may apply for a postal or proxy vote at this election.

- 1. Applications, amendments or cancellations of postal votes **MUST** reach the appropriate office of the Electoral Registration Officer by **5pm** on **Tuesday 19 April 2022.**
- 2. Applications to amend or cancel existing proxy arrangements **MUST** reach the appropriate office of the Electoral Registration Officer by **5pm** on **Tuesday 19 April 2022**.
- 3. Applications to vote by proxy (not postal proxy) at this election **MUST** reach the appropriate office of the Electoral Registration Officer by **5pm** on **Tuesday 26 April 2022.**
- 4. Applications to vote by emergency proxy at this election, i.e., made after the 26 April 2022 deadline on the grounds of; disability suffered after that deadline (or, for applicants who suffered a disability before the deadline, their disability meant that they could not reasonably have made an application in time), work/service reasons, following Scottish Government advice or the advice of a medical professional in relation to coronavirus, being detained in a hospital under the civil sections of the Mental Health (Care and Treatment) (Scotland) Act 2003 or for Scottish prisoners serving a sentence of 12 months or less, must reach the relevant Electoral Registration Officer at the address below by 5pm on Thursday 5 May 2022. To apply on the grounds of work/service, the person MUST have become aware that they cannot go to the polling station in person after 5pm on Tuesday 26 April 2022.

Council area covered by the Electoral Registration Officer	Electoral Registration Office Address
Caithness	3A Bridge Street, Wick, KW1 4AG
Sutherland; Ross and Cromarty; Skye and Lochalsh	Robertson House, Greenhill Street, Dingwall, IV15 9QR
Lochaber; Inverness; Nairn; Badenoch and Strathspey	Moray House, 16-18 Bank Street, Inverness, IV1 1QY

For advice on postal or proxy voting, contact the Electoral Registration Officer.

Helpline number: 0800 393783; Email: ero@highland.gov.uk
Web-site: www.saa.gov.uk/h-wi-vjb

Printed and published by Donna Manson, Returning Officer, The Highland Council, Election Office, Council Headquarters, Glenurquhart Road, Inverness, IV3 5NX Email election@highland.gov.uk

Dated - 14 March 2022