## The Cairngorms National Park Authority Thursday 23 March 2023



## **Notice of Election**

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that elections to elect one Member to the Cairngorms National Park Authority Board to represent each of the FIVE (5) wards within the National Park Area will be held on Thursday 23 March 2023, in accordance with the Cairngorms National Park Elections (Scotland) Order 2003.

Prospective candidates can request a nomination paper from the office within the ward they wish to stand (contact details in Schedule 1). Further information is available from any of the offices detailed in schedule 1 and Nomination forms are also available to download at <a href="https://www.highland.gov.uk/elections">www.highland.gov.uk/elections</a>.

## To qualify, candidates must be:

- 21 years of age or over,
- but need not be resident in the Ward for which they wish to stand, nor the Park area generally.

The candidate's nomination paper must be subscribed to by 2 electors as proposer and seconder and by 4 other electors living in that electoral ward as assenting to the nomination.

All nomination forms must be duly completed and returned by hand to the appropriate ward Depute Returning Officer, by appointment, **no later than 4pm on Wednesday 15 February 2023**.

Before the original documents are delivered to the appropriate Depute Returning Officer's office, candidates may scan and email their forms electronically to the appropriate office email address in schedule 1 for an informal check.

In the event of a poll, ballot papers will be issued to all eligible electors on Tuesday 28 February 2023. Completed postal votes must be returned by 2pm on Thursday 23 March 2023 to be included in the counting of votes.

All eligible electors have already been advised by post of the electoral ward they will be entitled to vote in. Anyone who has not received notification, and who wishes to clarify their entitlement to vote should contact the appropriate Electoral Registration Officer as detailed in Schedule 2 below. Any elector can apply to the Electoral Registration Officer to have their ballot paper sent to an address other than that appearing on the electoral register. To do this they need to apply to the appropriate office (contact details in Schedule 2) below no later than 5pm on Thursday 16 February 2023.

Schedule 1 – Depute Returning Officer Contact Details for delivering Nomination Forms

Electoral Ward	Depute Returning Officer Offices	Contact Details
1	Lewis Hannah, The Highland Council, Election Office, Kingussie Courthouse Office, 36 High Street, KINGUSSIE, PH21 1HR	01349 886657 election@highland.gov.uk
	or Scott Walker, Perth & Kinross Council, Election Office, Council Building, 2 High Street, PERTH, PH1 5PH	01738 475004 elections@pkc.gov.uk
2	Lewis Hannah, The Highland Council, Election Office, Kingussie Courthouse Office, 36 High Street, KINGUSSIE, PH21 1HR	01349 886657 election@highland.gov.uk
3	Lewis Hannah, The Highland Council, Election Office, Kingussie Courthouse Office, 36 High Street, KINGUSSIE, PH21 1HR	01349 886657 election@highland.gov.uk
4	Moira Patrick, Moray Council, Election Office, Council Offices, High Street, ELGIN, IV30 1BX	01343 563334 elections@moray.gov.uk
5	Karen Wiles, Aberdeenshire Council, Election Office, Woodhill House, Westburn Road, ABERDEEN, AB16 5GB or Scott Walker, Perth & Kinross Council, Election Office, Council Building, 2 High Street, PERTH, PH1 5PH or Gillian Bell, Angus Council, Election Office, Digital Reprographics Unit, Sylvie Way, Orchardbank Business Park, FORFAR, DD8 1AY	01467 539311 elections@aberdeenshire.gov.uk  01738 475004 elections@pkc.gov.uk  01307 491843 elections@angus.gov.uk

Schedule 2 – Electoral Registration Office Contact Details

Electoral Ward	Electoral Registration Offices	Contact Details
1	Highland & Western Isles Electoral Registration Office, Moray House, 16-18 Bank Street, INVERNESS, IV1 1QY or Tayside Electoral Registration Office, Robertson House, Whitefriars Crescent, PERTH, PH2 0LG	0800 393783 ero@highland.gov.uk 01738 630303 perth@tayside-vjb.gov.uk
2	Highland & Western Isles Electoral Registration Office, Moray House, 16-18 Bank Street, INVERNESS, IV1 1QY	0800 393783 ero@highland.gov.uk
3	Highland & Western Isles Electoral Registration Office, Moray House, 16-18 Bank Street, INVERNESS, IV1 1QY	0800 393783 ero@highland.gov.uk
4	Grampian Electoral Registration Office, Woodhill House, Westburn Road, ABERDEEN, AB16 5GE	01224 068400 ero@grampian-vjb.gov.uk
5	Grampian Electoral Registration Office, Woodhill House, Westburn Road, ABERDEEN, AB16 5GE or Tayside Electoral Registration Office, Robertson House, Whitefriars Crescent, PERTH, PH2 0LG or	01224 068400 ero@grampian-vjb.gov.uk 01738 630303 perth@tayside-vjb.gov.uk
	Tayside Electoral Registration Office, Floor 1, William Wallace House, Orchard Loan, Orchardbank Business Park, Forfar, ANGUS, DD8 1WH	01307 499910 angus@tayside-vjb.gov.uk

Printed and Published on 18 January 2023 by
Donna Manson, Returning Officer for The Cairngorms National Park Elections,
The Highland Council Offices, Election Office, Glenurquhart Road, Inverness IV3 5NX
Web: <a href="https://www.highland.gov.uk/elections">www.highland.gov.uk/elections</a>

Email: <u>election@highland.gov.uk</u>