By-election - Ward 4 Results 2013

The Highland Council Local Government By-election Electoral Ward No. 4 - Landward Caithness Friday 29 November 2013

Declaration of Result I declare that the result of the election in the Landward Caithness Ward is as follows:

There is 1 councillor to be elected.

The percentage poll was 29.91%. There were 2,588 valid papers and 28 rejected papers.

The quota of votes for a candidate to be elected is 1,295.

The first preference votes received by each of the candidates and the stage at which the candidate was elected is as follows:

Candidate	Party	Number of First Preference Votes	Stage at which candidate has been elected
Ed Boyter	Scottish National Party (SNP)	546	
Kerensa Carr	Scottish Conservative and Unionist	171	
Tina Irving	Independent	128	
Matthew Reiss	Independent	1,150	4
Winifred Sutherland	Independent	593	

Of the total ballot papers, the following were rejected as void and not counted on account of.

1. Want of Official Mark	0
2. On which the figure "1" standing alone indicating a 1st preference is set opposite the name of more than 1 candidate	8
3. Over voting	18
4. Writing or mark by which voter could be identified	0
5. Unmarked or void for uncertainty	2
Total Number Rejected	28

I, Steve Barron, the Returning Officer at the above election, hereby declare that **Matthew Reiss, (Independent)** has been duly elected to serve as a Councillor for the Landward Caithness Ward.

Steve Barron, Returning Officer

Printed and Published by The Returning Officer, Elections Office, Council Headquarters, Inverness IV3 5NX Friday 29 Nov 2013

© Copyright The Highland Council, 2006