The Highland Council No. 3 2015/2016

Minutes of Special Meeting of the Highland Council held in the Council Chamber, Council Headquarters, Glenurquhart Road, Inverness on Thursday, 11 June 2015 at 10.30am.

Calling of the Roll and Apologies for Absence A' Gairm a' Chlàir agus Leisgeulan

Present:

Dr D Alston Mr B Lobban Mr R Balfour Mrs L MacDonald Mrs J Barclay Mr N MacDonald Mr A Baxter Mr J McGillivray Mr D Bremner Mrs D Mackay Mr I Brown Mr D Mackay Mr W MacKay Mrs C Caddick Mrs I Campbell Mr G MacKenzie Miss J Campbell Mr A MacKinnon Mrs H Carmichael Ms A MacLean Mr T MacLennan Mr A Christie Mr B Clark Mr K MacLeod Dr I Cockburn Mr H Morrison Mrs G Coghill Ms L Munro Mr J Crawford Mr B Murphy Mrs M Davidson Mr F Parr Mr N Donald Mr G Phillips Ms J Douglas Mr T Prag Mr A Duffy Mr M Rattray Mr D Fallows Mr I Renwick Mr G Farlow Mr A Rhind Mr G Rimell Mr B Fernie Mrs F Robertson Mr M Finlayson Mr C Fraser Mr J Rosie

Mr H Fraser Ms G Ross Mr L Fraser Mr G Ross Mr S Fuller Mr R Saxon Mr J Gordon Dr A Sinclair Mr B Gormley Ms G Sinclair Mr K Gowans Mrs J Slater Mr A Graham Ms M Smith Mr J Grav Ms K Stephen Mr M Green Mr J Stone Mr R Greene Mr B Thompson Mrs C Wilson Mr A Henderson Mr D Kerr Mr H Wood

In Attendance:

Mr R Laird

Chief Executive Director of Care and Learning

Depute Chief Executive/Director of Director of Finance

Corporate Development Director of Community Services

Director of Development &

Infrastructure

Apologies for absence were intimated on behalf of Mr J Ford, Mr D Hendry, Mrs B McAllister, Mrs I McCallum, Mr D Millar, Mrs M Paterson and Mr M Reiss.

2. Declarations of Interest Foillseachaidhean Com-pàirt

There were no declarations of interest.

Tributes to the late Charles Kennedy

Prior to commencement of the formal business, the Convener and Group Leaders paid warm tribute to the late Charles Kennedy who had been the Member of Parliament for Ross, Skye and Lochaber from 1983 to 2015.

In this regard, it was confirmed that Mr Kennedy had been very highly regarded as a committed internationalist, a global citizen, a passionate European, a compassionate and principled British politician, a great Scot and a respected and much loved Highlander.

The thoughts and prayers of the whole Council went out to his family and friends, especially his son Donald, and also to the people of Lochaber who were grieving for a much loved son who had never lost touch with his roots in the community and would always be remembered.

3. Notice of Motion Brathan Glusaid

Nominations for the following Senior Member posts were moved and **AGREED** at the meeting –

Leader of the Council - Mrs M Davidson

Chair of Resources Committee - Mr B Fernie

Chair of Education, Children and Adult Services Committee - Mr D Millar

Chair of Planning, Development and Infrastructure Committee and Planning Review Body – Dr A Sinclair

Chair of Community Services Committee – Mr A Henderson

Chair of Community Safety, Public Engagement and Equalities Committee – Mr H Fraser

Chair of Highland Licensing Committee – Dr I Cockburn

Chair of Audit and Scrutiny Committee - Mr R Laird

Vice Chair of Audit and Scrutiny Committee – Mr G Phillips

Leader of the Opposition – Ms M Smith

At this point, the Leader of the Council thanked the previous Chairs of the respective Committees for the work which had been undertaken to date.

4. Membership of the Council Ballrachd na Comhairle

It was **NOTED** that the political make-up of the Council was now as follows –

Independent – 32/ SNP – 21/ Liberal Democrat – 11/ Labour – 8 Highland Alliance – 5/ Non Aligned - 3

It was also **NOTED** that the formula in respect of the number of places on Strategic Committees remained as 9/6/3/2/2 and that revised Committee membership lists would be circulated for the next meeting on 25 June 2015.

5. Convener of the Council Neach-gairm

Following nomination, it was **AGREED** that Mrs I McCallum should become Convener of the Council.

Thereafter, the Leader of the Council thanked Mr J Gray for the work which he had undertaken for the Council during his time in the role of Convener.

The meeting ended at 11.00am