The Highland Council

Minutes of City of Inverness Area Committee took place Council Chamber, Council Headquarters, Glenurquhart Road, Inverness on Wednesday 8 June 2022 at 10.00 am.

Present:

Mr C Aitken Mrs J Hendry Ms E Knox Mr C Ballance Mr B Boyd Mrs I MacKenzie Mr I Brown Mr R MacKintosh Mr M Cameron Mr A MacKintosh Mrs G Campbell-Sinclair Ms K MacLean Mr A Christie Mr D Macpherson Mrs B McAllister Ms H Crawford Mr D Fraser Ms M Reid Mr K Gowans Mrs T Robertson

Mr K Gowans Mrs T Robertson
Mr A Graham Mr A Sinclair

Mr D Gregg

Non-Members also present:

Mr B Lobban Mr P Oldham

Mr G MacKenzie

Officials in Attendance:

Ms D Manson. Chief Executive

Ms K Lackie, Acting Depute Chief Executive and Executive Chief Officer, Performance & Governance

Ms A Clark, Head of Policy & Reform, Community and Place

Mr D Haas, Inverness City Area Manager, Community and Place

Mr A Coyle, Corporate Communications and Engagement Officer

Miss J Maclennan, Principal Administrator, Performance and Governance Service

Mr A MacInnes, Committee Officer, Performance and Governance Service Mrs O Bayon, Committee Officer, Performance and Governance Service

Miss J Maclennan in the Chair for Items 1-4.

An asterisk in the margin denotes a recommendation to the Council. All decisions with no marking in the margin are delegated to Committee.

Business

1. Apologies for Absence Leisgeulan

There were no apologies for absence.

2. Declarations of Interest Foillseachaidhean Com-pàirt

There were no Declarations of Interest

3. Recess Powers Cumhachdan Fosaidh

The Committee **NOTED** that the recess powers granted by the Council at its meeting on 10 March 2022 had not been required to be exercised in relation to the business of this Committee.

4. Appointment of Leader of Inverness and Area Cur an Dreuchd Ceannard Inbhir Nis agus a Sgìre

Mr I Brown was nominated by Mr K Gowans and this was seconded by Mrs J Hendry. .

Mrs T Robertson was nominated by Mrs I MacKenzie and this was seconded by Mr D Macpherson.

In a vote between the two candidates, Mr Brown received 12 votes and Mrs Robertson received 11 votes - with no abstentions.

It was therefore **AGREED** to appoint **Mr I Brown** as Leader of Inverness and Area – the votes having been cast as follows:-

Votes for Mr I Brown

Mr C Ballance; Mr B Boyd; Mr I Brown; Mr M Cameron; Mrs G Campbell-Sinclair; Mr D Fraser; Mr K Gowans; Mrs J Hendry; Ms E Knox; Mr R MacKintosh; Ms K MacLean; Ms M Reid.

Votes for Mrs T Robertson

Mr C Aitken; Mr A Christie; Ms H Crawford; Mr A Graham; Mr D Gregg; Mrs I MacKenzie; Mr A MacKintosh; Mr D Macpherson; Mrs B McAllister; Mrs T Robertson; Mr A Sinclair.

(At this point, Mr Brown took the Chair).

5. New Post of Depute Leader of Inverness and Area Dreuchd Ùr Iar-Cheannard Inbhir Nis agus a Sgìre

The Committee were invited to consider the creation of a new post of Depute Leader of Inverness and Area. In this regard, a job description was tabled at the meeting.

The Committee **AGREED** to establish a new post of Depute Leader of Inverness and Area.

6. Appointment of Depute Leader of Inverness and Area Cur an Dreuchd Iar-Ceannard Inbhir Nis agus a Sgìre

Having been nominated by Mr B Boyd and seconded by Ms M Reid, and there being no other candidates, the Committee **AGREED** to appoint **Mr C Ballance** as Depute Leader of Inverness and Area

7. Appointment of Provost Cur an Dreuchd Phròbhaist

Mrs G Campbell-Sinclair was nominated by Mr K Gowans and this was seconded by Ms K MacLean. .

Mr A Graham was nominated by Mr D Macpherson and this was seconded by Mrs E McAllister.

In a vote between the two candidates, Mrs Campbell Sinclair received 12 votes and Mr Graham received 11 votes - with no abstentions.

The Committee therefore **AGREED** to appoint **Mrs G Campbell-Sinclair** as Provost of Inverness and Area – the votes having been cast as follows:-

Votes for Mrs G Campbell-Sinclair

Mr C Ballance; Mr B Boyd; Mr I Brown; Mr M Cameron; Mrs G Campbell-Sinclair; Mr D Fraser; Mr K Gowans; Mrs J Hendry; Ms E Knox; Mr R MacKintosh; Ms K MacLean; Ms M Reid.

Votes for Mr A Graham

Mr C Aitken; Mr A Christie; Ms H Crawford; Mr A Graham; Mr D Gregg; Mrs I MacKenzie; Mr A MacKintosh; Mr D Macpherson; Mrs B McAllister; Mrs T Robertson; Mr A Sinclair.

8. Appointments of two Depute Provosts of Inverness and Area Cur an Dreuchd dà Iar-Phròbhaist do dh'Inbhir Nis agus a Sgìre

Mrs B McAllister was nominated by Mr A Graham and this was seconded by Mr A MacKintosh. .

Mrs J Hendry was nominated by Mr K Gowans and this was seconded by Mr B Bovd

Ms I MacKenzie was nominated by Ms H Crawford and this was seconded by Mrs T Robertson.

Ms M Reid was nominated by Mrs J Hendry and this was seconded by Ms K MacLean.

On a vote being taken, Mrs McAllister received 11 votes, Mrs J Hendry received 12 votes, Mrs I MacKenzie received 9 votes and Ms M Reid received 12 votes the votes having been cast as follows:-

Votes for Mrs B McAllister

Mr C Aitken; Mr A Christie; Ms H Crawford; Mr A Graham; Mr D Gregg; Mrs I MacKenzie; Mr A MacKintosh; Mr D Macpherson; Mrs B McAllister; Mrs T Robertson; Mr A Sinclair.

Votes for Mrs J Hendry

Mr C Ballance; Mr B Boyd; Mr I Brown; Mr M Cameron; Mrs G Campbell-Sinclair; Mr D Fraser; Mr K Gowans; Mrs J Hendry; Ms E Knox; Mr R MacKintosh; Ms K MacLean; Ms M Reid.

Votes for Mrs I MacKenzie

Mr C Aitkin; Mr A Christie; Ms H Crawford; Mr A Graham; Mr D Gregg; Mrs I MacKenzie; Mr D Macpherson; Mrs T Robertson; Mr A Sinclair.

Votes for Ms M Reid

Mr C Ballance; Mr B Boyd; Mr I Brown; Mr M Cameron; Mrs G Campbell-Sinclair; Mr D Fraser; Mr K Gowans; Mrs J Hendry; Ms E Knox; Mr R MacKintosh; Ms K MacLean; Ms M Reid.

On a second vote being taken between the candidates with the most votes Mrs McAllister received 11 votes, Mrs J Hendry received 12 votes and Ms M Reid received 13 votes the votes having been cast as follows:-

Votes for Mrs B McAllister

Mr C Aitken; Mr A Christie; Ms H Crawford; Mr A Graham; Mr D Gregg; Mrs I MacKenzie; Mr A MacKintosh; Mr D Macpherson; Mrs B McAllister; Mrs T Robertson; Mr A Sinclair.

Votes for Mrs J Hendry

Mr C Ballance; Mr B Boyd; Mr I Brown; Mr M Cameron; Mrs G Campbell-Sinclair; Mr D Fraser; Mr K Gowans; Mrs J Hendry; Ms E Knox; Mr R MacKintosh; Ms K MacLean; Ms M Reid.

Votes for Ms M Reid

Mr C Ballance; Mr B Boyd; Mr I Brown; Mr M Cameron; Mrs G Campbell-Sinclair; Mr D Fraser; Mr K Gowans; Mrs J Hendry; Ms E Knox; Mr R MacKintosh; Ms K MacLean; Mr D Macpherson; Ms M Reid.

It was **AGREED** to appoint **Mrs J Hendry** and **Ms M Reid** to the positions of Depute Provosts for Inverness and Area.

9. Appointments to Sub-Committee, Working Groups etc Cur an Dreuchd gu Fo-Chomataidhean, Buidhnean-obrach is eile

The Committee **APPROVED** the membership of the following Sub-Committees, Working Groups etc –

- (i) Inverness Common Good Fund Grants Sub-Committee Mr C Aitkin, Mr B Ballance, Mr M Cameron, Ms G Campbell Sinclair, Mr A Graham, Mrs B McAllister, Mrs I MacKenzie, Ms K MacLean, Ms M Reid and Mr A Sinclair
- (ii) Events and Festivals Working Group Ms G Campbell-Sinclair, Mrs J Hendry, Mrs I MacKenzie, Mr R MacKintosh and Ms M Reid

10. Minutes

Geàrr-chunntas

The Committee:-

- i. **NOTED** the City of Inverness Area Committee held on 17 February 2022 and 8 March 2022; and
- ii. **APPROVED** Inverness East Sports Facilities Working Group held on 31 March 2022.

The meeting ended at 10.35 am.