The Highland Council

Minutes of the **22nd Annual General Meeting** of the **Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers** (LNCT) held remotely on Tuesday 14 November 2023 at 3.00 pm.

Present:

Representing the Management Side:

Mrs M Cockburn Mr J Grafton Mr J Finlayson Mr D Millar

Representing the Teachers' Side:

Mr T Coles (EIS) Ms J Hume (EIS) Mr L MacKenzie (EIS) Ms G Warburton (EIS)

In attendance:

Mr A Bell, Joint Secretary, Teachers' Side Ms N Grant, Joint Secretary, Management Side/Executive Chief Officer, Education and Learning Ms F Grant, Head of Education, Learning and Teaching Ms R Bell, Policy Officer Ms J Sikkema, HR Business Partner Ms M Murray, Principal Committee Officer Ms R Ross, Committee Officer

Business

1. Appointment of Chair

The Principal Committee Officer explained that the Chair of the LNCT alternated annually between the Management Side and the Teachers' Side. For the coming year, assuming the Committee was content to continue the usual arrangement, it was the turn of the Teachers' Side.

The Committee **AGREED** that the Chair of the Teachers' Side, Mr Lewis MacKenzie, be appointed Chair of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers for the coming year.

Mr MacKenzie then took the Chair.

2. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were intimated on behalf of Ms S Atkin, Ms H Crawford, Mr D Louden and Mr C Munro.

3. Declarations of Interest/Transparency Statements

The Committee NOTED the following:-

Mr J Grafton made a general Transparency Statement on the basis that his partner was a secondary school teacher in Highland but, having applied the objective test, he did not consider that he had an interest to declare.

4. Minutes of Meeting held on 22 November 2022

The Committee **APPROVED** the Minutes of the 21st Annual General Meeting of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers held on 22 November 2022.

5. Approval of Membership

There had been circulated a paper setting out the membership of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers for the coming year.

The Principal Committee Officer highlighted that, since the agenda and papers had been issued, it had been confirmed that Mr R Gale would fill the Liberal Democrat vacancy on the Management Side.

The Joint Secretary, Teachers' Side, explained that Ms J Hume had been elected as Vice Convenor of the Teachers' Side, and a further Scottish Secondary Teachers' Association representative would be confirmed in the near future.

The Committee **APPROVED** the membership of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers as follows:-

Representing the Management Side - four from the following:

Mr John Finlayson (Chair of the Education Committee) Mr Drew Millar (Vice Chair of the Education Committee) Mr Derek Louden (Chair of the Corporate Resources Committee) Mr Calum Munro (Vice Chair of the Corporate Resources Committee) Ms S Atkin Ms Muriel Cockburn Ms H Crawford Mr R Gale* Mr J Grafton Mrs I MacKenzie*

* to be formally agreed by the Education Committee on 23 November 2023.

Representing the Teachers' Side - four from the following:

Association of Headteachers and Deputes in Scotland

Mrs Kerrie Laird

Educational Institute of Scotland

Mr Lewis MacKenzie (Convenor) Ms Jacqueline Hume (Vice Convenor) Mr Thomas Coles Ms Mary Evans Ms Kirsteen Mathie Ms Caroline McCombie Mr Steven Tillman Ms Gabi Warburton

School Leaders Scotland

Dr James Vance

Scottish Secondary Teachers' Association

Mr Sinclair MacKenzie Further SSTA representative to be confirmed

6. Dates of Future Meetings

The Committee **AGREED** that meetings of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers be held on the following dates in 2024:-

Wednesday 5 June at 3.00 pm Tuesday 3 December at 3.00 pm

The meeting concluded at 3.05 pm.