The Highland Council

Minutes of the **23rd Annual General Meeting** of the **Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers** (LNCT) held remotely on Tuesday 3 December 2024 at 3.00 pm.

Present:

Representing the Management Side:

Ms S Atkin Mrs M Cockburn Mr J Finlayson Mr C Munro

Representing the Teachers' Side:

Ms M Evans (EIS) Mr L MacKenzie (EIS) Mr S Mackenzie (SSTA) Ms G Warburton (EIS)

In attendance:

Ms K Lackie, Assistant Chief Executive - People Mr A Bell, Joint Secretary, Teachers' Side Ms F Grant, Chief Officer – Secondary Education/Joint Secretary, Management Side Ms A Jansson, Chief Officer – Early Years and Primary Education Ms A MacPherson, Head of Resources Ms R Bell, Policy Officer Ms M Murray, Principal Committee Officer Ms R Ross, Committee Officer

Business

1. Appointment of Chair

The Principal Committee Officer explained that the Chair of the LNCT alternated annually between the Management Side and the Teachers' Side. For the coming year, assuming the Committee was content to continue the usual arrangement, it was the turn of the Management Side.

The Committee **AGREED** that the Chair of the Management Side, Mr J Finlayson, be appointed as Chair of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers for the coming year.

Mr Finlayson then took the Chair.

2. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were intimated on behalf of Mr D Louden, Mr D Millar and Mr D Macpherson.

3. Declarations of Interest/Transparency Statements

The Committee NOTED the following:-

Mr C Munro made a general Transparency Statement on the basis that he had formerly been a primary teacher in Highland and a close family member was currently a primary school teacher in Highland but, having applied the objective test, he did not consider that he had an interest to declare.

4. Minutes of Meeting held on 14 November 2023

The Committee **APPROVED** the Minutes of the 22nd Annual General Meeting of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers held on 14 November 2023.

5. Approval of Membership

There had been circulated a paper setting out the membership of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers for the coming year.

The Joint Secretary, Teachers' Side, confirmed that, since the agenda and papers had been issued, Mr Derrick Roberts, NASUWT, had been accepted on to the Teachers' Side. In terms of EIS representation, Mr Thomas Coles had been replaced Ms Sandra Reid, and Ms Caroline McCombie had come off the list and had yet to be replaced. Mr James Vance, School Leaders Scotland, had been replaced by Mr Gavin Murphy, and a second SSTA representative had yet to be identified.

The Committee **APPROVED** the membership of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers as follows:-

Representing the Management Side - four from the following:

Mr John Finlayson (Chair of the Education Committee) Mr Drew Millar (Vice Chair of the Education Committee) Mr Derek Louden (Chair of the Corporate Resources Committee) Mr Calum Munro (Vice Chair of the Corporate Resources Committee) Ms Sarah Atkin Mrs Muriel Cockburn Mr D Macpherson

Representing the Teachers' Side - four from the following:

Association of Headteachers and Deputes in Scotland

Mrs Kerrie Laird

Educational Institute of Scotland

Mr Lewis MacKenzie (Convenor) Ms Jacqueline Hume (Vice Convenor) Ms Mary Evans Ms Kirsteen Mathie Ms Sandra Reid Mr Steven Tillman Ms Gabi Warburton Further EIS representative to be confirmed

NASUWT

Mr Derrick Roberts

School Leaders Scotland

Mr Gavin Murphy

Scottish Secondary Teachers' Association

Mr Sinclair MacKenzie Second SSTA representative to be confirmed

6. Dates of Future Meetings

The Committee **AGREED** that meetings of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers be held on the following dates in 2025:-

Tuesday 3 June at 3.00 pm Tuesday 2 December at 3.00 pm

The meeting concluded at 3.05 pm.