UK Parliamentary General Election

UK Parliamentary Elections are operated under the First Past the Post System. Voters use one cross (X) to mark their ballot paper.

Highland electors vote for MP's in the "Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross", "Ross, Skye and Lochaber" and "Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and  Strathspey" constituencies.

The boundaries are different to those used for Scottish Parliamentary Elections, maps for these areas can be found on the Boundary Commission for Scotland website. Elected MP’s sit in the Westminster Parliament.

Next election - 8 June 2017

Election timetable


The candidates standing for election are in the 3 constituencies are listed below

Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross Constituency

  • Olivia Bell - Scottish Labour Party
  • Struan Mackie - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Paul Monaghan -Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Jamie Stone - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Ross, Skye and Lochaber Constituency

  • Ian Blackford - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Ronnie the Crofter, Campbell - Independent
  • Jean Davis - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Robert Mackenzie - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Peter Ó Donnghaile - Scottish Labour Party
  • Stick Sturrock - Something New

Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey Constituency

  • Donald MacLeod Boyd - Scottish Christian Party “Proclaiming Christ’s Lordship”
  • Ritchie Cunningham - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Drew Hendry - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Mike Robb - Scottish Labour Party
  • Nicholas Tulloch - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Is there anything wrong with this page?