Agendas, reports and minutes

Highland Council

Date: Thursday, 11 June 2015

Minutes: Read the Minutes

Minutes of Special Meeting of the Highland Council held in the Council Chamber, Council Headquarters, Glenurquhart Road, Inverness on Thursday, 11 June 2015 at 10.30am.

1. Calling of the Roll and Apologies for Absence
A’ Gairm a’ Chlàir agus Leisgeulan


Dr D Alston, Mr R Balfour, Mrs J Barclay, Mr A Baxter, Mr D Bremner, Mr I Brown, Mrs C Caddick, Mrs I Campbell, Miss J Campbell, Mrs H Carmichael, Mr A Christie, Mr B Clark, Dr I Cockburn, Mrs G Coghill, Mr J Crawford, Mrs M Davidson, Mr N Donald, Ms J Douglas, Mr A Duffy, Mr D Fallows, Mr G Farlow, Mr B Fernie, Mr M Finlayson, Mr C Fraser, Mr H Fraser, Mr L Fraser, Mr S Fuller, Mr J Gordon, Mr B Gormley, Mr K Gowans, Mr A Graham, Mr J Gray, Mr M Green, Mr R Greene, Mr A Henderson, Mr D Kerr, Mr R Laird, Mr B Lobban, Mrs L MacDonald, Mr N MacDonald, Mr J McGillivray, Mrs D Mackay, Mr D Mackay, Mr W MacKay, Mr G MacKenzie, Mr A MacKinnon, Ms A MacLean, Mr T MacLennan, Mr K MacLeod, Mr H Morrison, Ms L Munro, Mr B Murphy, Mr F Parr, Mr G Phillips, Mr T Prag, Mr M Rattray, Mr I Renwick, Mr A Rhind, Mr G Rimell, Mrs F Robertson, Mr J Rosie, Ms G Ross, Mr G Ross, Mr R Saxon, Dr A Sinclair, Ms G Sinclair, Mrs J Slater, Ms M Smith, Ms K Stephen, Mr J Stone, Mr B Thompson, Mrs C Wilson, Mr H Wood

In Attendance:

Chief Executive
Depute Chief Executive/Director of Corporate Development 
Director of Development & Infrastructure
Director of Care and Learning
Director of Finance
Director of Community Services

Mr J Gray in the Chair

Apologies for absence were intimated on behalf of Mr J Ford, Mr D Hendry, Mrs B McAllister, Mrs I McCallum, Mr D Millar, Mrs M Paterson and Mr M Reiss.

2. Declarations of Interest
Foillseachaidhean Com-pàirt

There were no declarations of interest.

Tributes to the late Charles Kennedy

Prior to commencement of the formal business, the Convener and Group Leaders paid warm tribute to the late Charles Kennedy who had been the Member of Parliament for Ross, Skye and Lochaber from 1983 to 2015.

In this regard, it was confirmed that Mr Kennedy had been very highly regarded as a committed internationalist, a global citizen, a passionate European, a compassionate and principled British politician, a great Scot and a respected and much loved Highlander.

The thoughts and prayers of the whole Council went out to his family and friends, especially his son Donald, and also to the people of Lochaber who were grieving for a much loved son who had never lost touch with his roots in the community and would always be remembered.

3. Notice of Motion
Brathan Glusaid

Nominations for the following Senior Member posts were moved and AGREED at the meeting –

Leader of the Council – Mrs M Davidson 
Chair of Resources Committee – Mr B Fernie
Chair of Education, Children and Adult Services Committee – Mr D Millar 
Chair of Planning, Development and Infrastructure Committee and Planning Review Body – Dr A Sinclair
Chair of Community Services Committee – Mr A Henderson
Chair of Community Safety, Public Engagement and Equalities Committee – Mr H Fraser
Chair of Highland Licensing Committee – Dr I Cockburn
Chair of Audit and Scrutiny Committee – Mr R Laird
Vice Chair of Audit and Scrutiny Committee – Mr G Phillips
Leader of the Opposition – Ms M Smith

At this point, the Leader of the Council thanked the previous Chairs of the respective Committees for the work which had been undertaken to date.

4. Membership of the Council
Ballrachd na Comhairle

It was NOTED that the political make-up of the Council was now as follows –

Independent – 32/ SNP – 21/ Liberal Democrat – 11/ Labour – 8
Highland Alliance – 5/ Non Aligned - 3

It was also NOTED that the formula in respect of the number of places on Strategic Committees remained as 9/6/3/2/2 and that revised Committee membership lists would be circulated for the next meeting on 25 June 2015.

5. Convener of the Council

Following nomination, it was AGREED that Mrs I McCallum should become Convener of the Council.

Thereafter, the Leader of the Council thanked Mr J Gray for the work which he had undertaken for the Council during his time in the role of Convener.

The meeting ended at 11.00am