165 Candidates to contest 21 Council multi-member wards 

Issued on behalf of The Returning Officer

The elections for the 74 seats on The Highland Council, being held on Thursday 4 May, will involve 165 candidates contesting all of the 21 multi-member wards. 

The breakdown of candidates is as follows:

Independent – 59
Labour and Co-operative party – 3
Liberal Democrat Focus Team – 1
Scottish Christian Party “Proclaiming Christ’s Lordship” – 1
Scottish Conservative and Unionist – 21
Scottish Green Party – 8
Scottish Labour Party – 15
Scottish Liberal Democrats – 19
Scottish Liberal Democrat Focus Team - 1
Scottish Libertarian Party – 1
Scottish National Party (SNP) – 31
Scottish Socialist Party – 2
UKIP – 1
No description – 2

Councillors are elected using the single transferable vote system so electors will be asked to mark their ballot paper, ranking candidates in preferential order.

To find out who is standing in which council ward and for full details of The Highland Council Election nominations visit http://www.highland.gov.uk/downloads/file/17674/hc_notice_of_poll_-_29_march_2017pdf

Polling takes place on Thursday 4 May between 7 am and 10 pm and the count will take place on Friday 5 May at Inverness Leisure Bught Park, Inverness.

This will be the first local government election at which 16 and 17 year olds can vote. Anyone wishing to take part must make sure they are registered to vote by midnight on Monday 17 April 2017.

Results of the elections are due by the afternoon on Friday 5 May.

29 Mar 2017