Tain and Easter Ross By-election date confirmed

ballot box

Candidates wishing to stand at the by-election being held in The Highland Council’s Ward 7 – Tain and Easter Ross – have until 4 pm on Monday 28 August to complete and submit their nomination forms.

The by-election is being held on Thursday 28 September following the resignation of Cllr Jamie Stone (Liberal Democrat) who has stepped down and taken up his seat in Westminster following the UK Parliamentary Elections held in June. 

Nomination papers will be available from Thursday 10 August from Tain Service Point and via the home page of The Highland Council’s web site http://www.www.highland.gov.uk

Tuesday 12 September is the latest time for registering to vote in the by-election. Postal votes will be issued on Monday 18 September.

If contested, polling will take place between 7 am and 10 pm on Thursday 28 September at the following polling stations:

  • Duthac Centre, Tain (2 stations);
  • Inver Village Hall;
  • Carnegie Hall,  Portmahomack; 
  • Fearn Abbey Church Hall; 
  • Mercat Centre,  Munro Crescent, Milton; 
  • Nigg Village Hall
  • Seaboard Memorial Hall, Balintore

The counting of votes will take place at the Duthac Centre in Tain, on Friday 29 September.


10 Aug 2017
Tell us something about this topic How is this webpage?