Tain and Easter Ross Voters Urged to Check their Polling Station for the Upcoming By-election

photo of ballot box

1,212 people have applied for a postal vote for the up-coming Tain and Easter Ross by-election. This represents nearly 17%of the total electorate which is 7,196.

The six candidates are:

  • Harry Christian - Scottish Libertarian Party
  • Gerald Holdsworth - Independent
  • Stan Peace - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Alasdair Rhind - Independent
  • Eva Short - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • William Sinclair - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Polling will take place next Thursday (28 September) between 7 am – 10 pm and voters polling cards show which of the following Polling Stations they should go to in order to cast their votes.

  • Duthac Centre, Tain (2 stations);
  • Inver Village Hall;
  • Carnegie Hall, Portmahomack;
  • Fearn Abbey Church Hall;
  • Mercat Centre, Munro Crescent, Milton;
  • Nigg Village Hall and Seaboard Memorial Hall, Balintore

Voters are reminded that the single transferable vote system is being used. Instead of using a cross, voters are asked to number the candidates in the order of their choice eg placing the number 1 next to the name of the candidate who is their first choice; 2 next to their second choice, 3 next to their choice and so on etc. Voters can mark as many or as few choices as they like.

Postal voters should ensure they complete and return their ballot paper in the supplied envelope in time to make their vote count. They can also hand their postal vote into any of the polling stations up until 10 pm on Thursday28 September.
The by-election is being held after Jamie Stone stepped down to take up a seat in Westminster following the UK parliamentary elections held earlier this year. He was one of three councillors representing Ward 7. The other two Members are Derek Louden (SNP) and Fiona Robertson (Independent).

The count will take place on Friday 29 September at The Duthac Centre.

The current make-up of The Highland Council is

Independent (29)

Scottish Conservative and Unionist (10)

Scottish Green Party (1)

Scottish Labour Party (3)

Scottish Liberal Democrats (9)

Scottish National Party (21)


19 Sep 2017
Tell us something about this topic How is this webpage?