Caol and Mallaig by-election timetable confirmed

The timetable for the election for the return of a councillor for the Caol and Mallaig ward of The Highland Council has been announced today (Monday 5 February)

The by-election is being held following the sad death of Councillor Billy MacLachlan who was one of three Councillors representing Ward 11. The other Ward members are Councillors Allan Henderson (Independent) and Ben Thompson (Independent)

The Notice of Election and Nomination Form will be published on the Council’s website on Tuesday 13 February.  Nomination Forms can be accepted from Wednesday 14 February and must be delivered to Emma Tayler, Depute Returning Officer, The Highland Council, Chief Executives Office, Lochaber House, High Street, Fort William, PH33 6EL.

Candidates will have until 4pm on Thursday 1 March to submit their nomination papers. 

If the seat is contested, voting will take place on Thursday 5 April with the count taking place within the ward on Friday 6 April.

Anyone eligible to vote can vote in person on the day or apply for either a postal vote or to vote by proxy. The latest time to apply for a postal vote is 5.00pm on Monday 19 March and the deadline for anyone wishing to apply to vote by proxy is Monday 26 March.  Advice on postal and proxy voting is available by contacting the Electoral Registration Office on 0800 393783.

Taking into account this vacancy within the Caol and Mallaig Ward, the current political representation of the Council is:

Independent (28)Non-aligned (2); Scottish Conservative and Unionist (10); Scottish Green Party (1); Scottish Labour Party (3); Scottish Liberal Democrats (9); Scottish National Party (19); Sutherland Independent Group (1);

5 Feb 2018
Tell us something about this topic How is this webpage?