​​​​​​​Eilean a’ Cheò Ward Civic Awards 2018

Community groups and individuals living on the Isle of Skye have received Civic Awards from The Highland Council at a special awards ceremony held in Portree earlier this month (10 December 2018). The awards were presented to winners in recognition of their achievements and contribution to their communities.

Steve and Marilyn Clarke nominated by Morag Hannah of CAB, won the Community Award - presented by Cllr John Gordon - for their lifelong involvement and service to their local community. Steve and Marilyn have volunteered with Skye and Lochalsh Citizens Advice Bureau for 14 years each contributing a full day’s voluntary work every week. Their volunteering amounts to approximately 9,300 hours and, valued at the rate of today’s minimum wage, equates to £70k worth of work. In this time they collectively assisted over 1,000 clients on a variety of issues including benefits, debt, employment and housing.

The Young People Category Award was presented to Hannah Buchan. Nominated by Kay MacDonald, Hannah was present her award by Cllr John Finlayson. Hannah received her award for her care and friendship shown to a fellow pupil who has Downs Syndrome by making sure that she was included in school activities from primary through secondary school.

The Environment Category nominated by Bob and Ann Danskin was won by Caroline Clouston. Cllr Ronald Macdonald presented Caroline with her award. Caroline takes part in and promotes all Kyleakin community projects and was recently involved in the Obbe Path upgrade to improve the environment around this nature walk. She is responsible for co-ordinating the shore berthing and management of boats and trailers in Kyleakin; ensures effective management of the environment around this part of the village and is involved in other projects posting dog fouling signs and recent improvements to the environment around the village War Memorial.

Jim Campbell, Cuillin FM Radio Presenter was nominated by the Directors and presenters of Cuillin FM. Jim won the Arts and Music Award – which was presented by Cllr Ronald MacDonald - for his consistent support to the station since it started broadcasting over 14 years ago. Jim has been a Presenter of 2 programmes and contributed to the successful running of the station in many other ways over the years. For 5 years, Jim organised all the programming. He was a Director of the station for 7 years and showed huge commitment giving his time willingly and freely over the years.

The Sport Category was won by Calum Campbell. Cllr John Finlayson nominated Calum and presented him the award. Calum has been involved in coaching since the early 1990’s. He has been coaching football at the primary school for so many years that he is now coaching a 2nd generation of children. Calum supports and organises parents to take their children to Portree, Broadford, Uig, Kyleakin and Plockton, and next year his volunteering efforts will also include Mallaig and Gairloch.

The Enterprise category was won by Crossroads Care charity shop volunteers; nominated by Kate MacDonald and presented by Cllr John Gordon.  The majority of volunteers do 2 to 3 hour shifts a week in the busy shop.  They volunteer to help Crossroads at other fundraising events and have never once had to close the shop or cancel an event through lack of volunteers. Without this band of volunteers some families in Skye and Lochalsh would struggle for respite from caring duties as they would not be able to afford it. The volunteers make sure all the donations get the highest price possible to ensure that the most money is made for the cause and are very proud in all that they do.

Jenny Duffill received the Community Award. Nominated by Ingrid Bruce she was presented her award by Cllr Ronald MacDonald for her relentless voluntary work within the local community.  In addition to running the weekly pensioner’s lunch club, she runs a local craft group and this year was a key driving force behind the week long local “Lamb to Loom” exhibition about the story of wool and weaving in Minginish.

The Young People Award was presented to Nan MacKinnon and Monica MacDougall; nominated by Broadford Parent Council and presented by Cllr John Finlayson. Monica and Nan Mackinnon have volunteered at Broadford Primary School for 12 and 10 years respectively. They help the pupils, teachers and the school as a whole and both have gone above and beyond what is expected of a volunteer. The school is very lucky to have had the privilege and good fortune to have them as volunteers.

Speaking on behalf of The Highland Council’s Eilean a' Cheò Ward Members, who presented the awards, Cathraiche Councillor John Gordon thanked the winners for their outstanding contribution to community life.

He said: “While volunteering is vital for the wider community it is also extremely satisfying for those who volunteer and we have some great people in Skye and Lochalsh who give their time and commitment to their community. We congratulate each award winner and also thank everyone for their nominations.”



24 Dec 2018