Replacement ballot packs sent to Cairngorms National Park Authority elections - Ward 3 voters

Voters in the Cairngorms National Park Election Ward 3 - Highland (main communities of Carrbridge, Cromdale, Grantown and Nethybridge) will receive a letter containing a new and replacement ballot pack from The Highland Council’s Elections Manager and Depute Returning Officer.

Replacement ballot packs and ballot papers are being issued to due to a printer error resulting in incomplete candidates’ statements being issued to the electorate.

The letter states: “…that a small number of packs did not have a complete set of candidates’ statements. This was due to a printer error out of our control and knowledge.

“The Returning Officer has decided, in consultation with the Park Authority, to re-issue all the ballot papers in a different colour from the ones you will have already received and statements for Ward 3”

Voters are being asked to “…destroy your original pack including the ballot paper if you have not already returned it. Any ballots already returned will be destroyed.”

As a result of this issue the return date for Ward 3 has been extended until 4pm on Thursday 28th March 2019 and the count for Ward 3 will be held in Aviemore on the evening of the 28th.

David Sutherland Elections Manager and Depute Returning Officer apologised for any inconvenience that this may cause voters and affirmed that all costs for the re-issue is being met by the printers.”

The candidates in Ward 3 area:

  • John Bruce, Lodge of Finlarig, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown on Spey, PH26 3NU
  • Les Durance, Cairngorm, Skye of Curr Road, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown on Spey, PH26 3PA
  • Declan Gallacher, 19A High Street, Grantown on Spey, PH26 3EG
  • Janet King, Ossian Cottage, Skye of Curr Road, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown on Spey, PH26 3PA
  • John Kirk, Rothiemoon Farm, Nethy Bridge, PH25 3DD
  • Karen Martin, Rossmor, Woodlands Terrace, Grantown on Spey, PH26 3JU
  • Aurelie Walker-Dean, Clachbhan, Nethy Bridge, PH25 3DR
  • Paul Webster, The Brae Cottage, Cromdale, Grantown on Spey, PH26 3PH
  • Neil Wilson, Sliemore, Nethy Bridge, PH25 3ED

The statements for the 9 candidates in Ward 3 can also be viewed on The Highland Council’s website at:

Elections are held every four years to elect 5 community representatives to serve on the board of the Cairngorms National Park Authority. One community member will be elected for each of the 5 wards within the national park area.

For further information visit:

5 Mar 2019