Highland schools excel in Neil Gunn writing competition

Highland pupils excel in Neil Gunn writing competition.

Three Highland secondary and four primary schools have excelled in this year’s Neil Gunn writing competition. 

Four Cawdor Primary School pupils were recognised for their work with two pupils placing 1st and 2nd in the primary school category.  The judges also awarded Cawdor Primary the Lydia Michael Trust Prize for the primary school with the highest standard of entries overall. 

Pupils from Fortrose Academy were presented with 1st and 2nd prize in the secondary school category and The High Life Highland Prize for the secondary school with the best entries overall went to Charleston Academy.

Primary school prize recipients were:

  • 1st prize Pollaidh Astley, Cawdor Primary
  • 2nd prize Rudi Charteris, Cawdor Primary
  • 3rd prize Cara McFarlane, Culbokie Primary
  • Highly Commended: Angus Kelly, Croy Primary; Rebekah MacPherson, Culbokie Primary; Olivia Price, Cawdor Primary
  • Commended: Rachel Forbes, Cawdor Primary; Hannah Wemyss, Ben Wyvis Primary; Eilidh Will, Ben Wyvis Primary

Secondary school prize recipients were:

  • 1st prize Tomos Dargie, Fortrose Academy
  • 2nd prize Nya Proudfoot-Gibson, Fortrose Academy
  • 3rd prize Iona Ramsey, Dingwall Academy
  • Highly Commended: Eve Flugel, Charleston Academy; Meg Leaver, Charleston Academy
  • Commended: Sarah-Ann Corcoran, Dingwall Academy; Christy MacPherson, Charleston Academy

The aim of the competition is to follow in the footsteps of Neil Gunn by encouraging writers of all ages and abilities. The competition gives writers the opportunity to write on a theme and to have their work read and judged.

The prizes were presented at an awards ceremony held on Wednesday, 12th June, in the Strathpeffer Pavilion.  The winning pupils, their guests and school representatives joined judges, officials, adult winners and the school competition sponsors, The Lydia Michael Trust, to celebrate their success, receive their awards and hear comments from the judges on their writing.

Charlotte MacArthur of the Neil Gunn Trust said: “Everyone associated with the competition was so impressed with the quality of submissions put forward by the many talented Highland pupils. We are delighted to have recognised and celebrated the pupil’s achievements at our awards ceremony.”

Councillor John Finlayson, Chair of Highland Council’s Care, Learning and Housing committee, said: “Congratulations to the winning pupils.  This is a wonderful achievement and I am particularly proud of our ambitious Highland learners who have the knowledge, skills and confidence to achieve their best.


Pupils in image (from left to right):

(Back) Tomos Dargie, Fortrose Academy, Nya Proudfoot-Gibson, Fortrose Academy, Iona Ramsey, Dingwall Academy, Sarah-Ann Corcoran, Dingwall Academy, Christy MacPherson, Charleston Academy, Meg Leaver, Charleston Academy and Eve Flugel  Charleston Academy.

(Front) Rebekah MacPherson, Culbokie Primary, Pollaidh Astley, Cawdor Primary, Olivia Price, Cawdor Primary, Rachel Forbes, Cawdor Primary, Eilidh Will, Ben Wyvis Primary, Hannah Wymss, Ben Wyvis Primary, Angus Kelly, Croy Primary and Cara McFarlane, Culbokie Primary.

14 Jun 2019
How is this webpage?