Gaelic Medium Debate in Skye and Lochalsh - Celebrating European Day of Languages

Winning photo

Toby Wallwork and Willow Ferguson

The first Gaelic debate for senior Gaelic medium primary school pupils in the Skye and Lochalsh area took place yesterday on European Day of Languages at Bun-Sgoil Ghàidhlig Phort Rìgh.

The Highland Council’s Gaelic Team organised the event in-conjunction with CuillinFM, Skye and Lochalsh local radio station.

Prior to the debate commencing both Còisear Gàidhlig Bun-Sgoil Ghàidhlig Phort Rìgh and Mr Iain Ruairaidh Finlayson performed.

The winning team received a trophy for the Best Debating Team sponsored by Sabhal Mòr Ostaig and the Best Debater Trophy was sponsored by CuillinFM the local radio station.

A total of 6 teams from Bun-Sgoil Ghàidhlig Phort Rìgh, Sleat, Kilmuir, Staffin, Plockton, all participated.

Each team had to give a 3 min discussion on a topic of their choice, the topics ranged from Plastics, Technology to Palm Oil.

The winners were Bun-Sgoil Stafainn who won the Award for the Best Debating Team and the Award for the Best Debater was awarded to Willow Ferguson from Bun-Sgoil Stafainn

Councillor John Gordon, chair of the Skye and Raasay Committee said: “I wish to congratulate all the teams who took part especially the winners Toby Wallwork and Willow Ferguson, from Bun- Sgoil Staffainn as the standard of debate was excellent. This was a very innovative event and the ranges of topics which the young people discussed were very relevant to national issues. The event was hugely successful especially as it’s in its first year. We hope that this will be an annual event, as it offers a real opportunity for young people to use their Gaelic skills out-with the classroom. The young also had the opportunity to meet young people from other schools in the area.”

Ms Ruth Taylor, who represented CuillinFM said, “We are delighted to be supporting the inaugural Skye and Lochalsh primary schools Gaelic debate in awarding a trophy and also broadcasting the debate on CuillinFM. We congratulate the winners especially the Best Debater Willow Ferguson and aim to continue to support the event in the future”.

The judges were Mr John Norman Macleod, Mr James Macdonald and Mrs Mairi Sìne Chaimbeul.

27 Sep 2019
How is this webpage?