Polling takes place next week for Highland Council By-election

Issued on behalf of the Returning Officer

On Thursday 14 November voting for the Inverness Central Ward By-Election gets underway with polling stations opening their doors at 7am and remaining open for voters until 10pm.

Anyone who has applied for a postal vote who may not yet have posted their ballot paper is reminded that they can hand it in to any of the polling stations up until 10 pm on Thursday 14 November.

The polling stations are located at:

  • Merkinch Community Centre (2)
  • Trinity Church Hall (2)
  • James Cameron Community Centre
  • The Spectrum Centre
  • Haugh Court Hall
  • St Stephen’s Church Hall
  • Hilton Primary School

The count will take place on Friday 15 November and the results will be published on the Council’s website www.highland.gov.uk  – you will also be able to follow the stages of the count on twitter and facebook @HighlandCouncil.

The 6 candidates standing are: 

  • Russell Deacon – Scottish Green Party
  • Mary Dormer – Scottish liberal Democrats
  • Ardalan Eghtedar – Scottish Labour Party
  • Rachael Hatfield – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Richie Paxton – Independent
  • Emma Roddick – Scottish National Party (SNP)

Voters are reminded that the single transferable vote system will be used. Instead of using a cross, voters should number the candidates in the order of their choice, putting a number 1 in the box next to the name of the candidate who is their first choice, 2 in the box next to their second choice and so on. Voters can mark as many choices as they wish. Voters are asked to put no other mark on the ballot paper as this could result in their vote not being counted.

The current political make-up of the Highland Council is:

•           Independent (27)

•           Non-aligned (2)

•           Scottish Conservative and Unionist (11)

•           Scottish Green Party (1)

•           Scottish Labour Party (3)

•           Scottish Liberal Democrats (9)

•           Scottish National Party (19)

•           Sutherland Independent Group (1)

Vacant (1)




4 Nov 2019
How is this webpage?