Notice of Election published for Highland Council By-Election


Sadly, following the death of Cllr Ian Ramon, a vacancy has arisen for the election of a Councillor to represent the Fort William and Ardnumurchan ward of The Highland Council.

Ward 21 is a 4-member ward. The other Ward members are Councillors Blair Allan (Scottish National Party), Andrew Baxter (Scottish Conservative and Unionist) and Niall MacLean (Scottish National Party).

Candidate Nomination forms can be downloaded from or by contacting the Election Office via email or 01349 886657.

The Returning Officer, Chief Executive of The Highland Council Donna Manson is encouraging people to put themselves forward as candidates.  She said: “As an inclusive Council we need people from all backgrounds and experiences who reflect the communities they live in to put themselves forward for election.

“With the Highland Council elections on the horizon on 5 May 2022, the elected member will hold the post for a rather short term however, this should not stop candidates standing as it is an opportunity to build relationships and represent your ward with a possibility to get re-elected next May 2022. Information can be found on our website but you can also drop us an email for more information or an informal chat.”

Completed nomination papers must be delivered to Dot Ferguson, Depute Returning Officer, The Highland Council, Policy and Reform, Charles Kennedy Building, Achintore Road, Fort William, PH33 6RQ by prior appointment between the hours of 10.00 am and 4.00 pm on any working day (excluding Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays) no later than 4.00 pm on Friday 29 October 2021.

Prior to lodging papers Candidates and Agents should contact Dot Ferguson 07899 067668 to arrange an appointment. Before the original documents are officially lodged by hand, candidates can scan and email their forms to for an informal check.

If the seat is contested, voting will take place on Thursday 2 December with the electronic count taking place in the ward on the following day.

The current political make-up of The Highland Council is as follows;

Highland Matters (4)

Independent (25)

Non-aligned (1)

Scottish Conservative and Unionist (10)

Scottish Labour Party (3)

Scottish Liberal Democrats (11)

Scottish National Party (18)

Sutherland Independent Group (1)

Vacant (1)

Anyone over 16 years old who is living in the ward is eligible to take part in this by-election if they are registered to vote. To register to vote visit  Alternatively, call the Electoral Registration Officer on 0800 393 783 to request a paper application form.  The last date to register to vote in this by-election is midnight on Monday 15 November 2021.

Voters will be able to cast their vote in person on the day by visiting their polling station or they can apply for either a postal vote or to vote by proxy.

The latest time to apply for a postal vote is 5.00pm on Tuesday 16 November and the deadline for anyone wishing to appoint a proxy, which is someone to vote on their behalf, is Tuesday, 23 November 2021. 

Advice on postal and proxy voting is available by contacting the Electoral Registration Office on 0800 393783.


21 Oct 2021