Candidates for Lochaber By-Election Confirmed

Following today’s deadline for nominations, The Highland Council can confirm the details of all the candidates that are standing in the Fort William and Ardnamurchan Ward by-election.

The candidates for Ward 21 – Fort William and Ardnamurchan are:

•         Mark DRAYTON

•         Sarah FANET - Scottish National Party (SNP)

•         Roger LILEY - Scottish Liberal Democrats

•         Joanne MATHESON - Independent

•         Andy MCKENNA - Independent

•         Ruraidh STEWART - Scottish Conservative and Unionist

•         Kate WILLIS - Scottish Green Party

Notice of Poll & Statement of Persons nominated

Voting will take place on Thursday 2 December 2021 with the electronic count taking place the following day in the ward.

Ward 21 is a 4-member ward. The successful candidate will join fellow Ward members Councillors Blair Allan - Scottish National Party (SNP); Andrew Baxter - Scottish Conservative and Unionist; and Niall MacLean - Scottish National Party (SNP).

Anyone over 16 years old who is living in the ward is eligible to take part in this by-election if they are registered to vote. To register to vote visit  Alternatively, call the Electoral Registration Officer on 0800 393 783 to request a paper application form.  The last date to register to vote in this by-election is midnight on Monday 15 November 2021.

Voters will be able to cast their vote in person on the day by visiting their polling station or they can apply for either a postal vote or appoint a proxy which is requesting someone to vote on their behalf. Due to the unpredictable winter weather, people who usually vote in person may want to consider applying for a postal vote for their convenience.

The latest time to apply for a postal vote is 5.00pm on Tuesday 16 November 2021 and the deadline for anyone wishing to appoint a proxy is Tuesday 23 November 2021. 

Advice on postal and proxy voting is available by contacting the Electoral Registration Office on 0800 393783 or emailing

Voters who vote in a polling station should double check their polling station location as the Council will be using local community buildings rather than using any school premises.  Poll Cards are being dispatched on Monday 1 November 2021 and will confirm the venue where they should vote.


29 Oct 2021