Results of Community Council Interim Elections 2024

Fourteen Highland Community Councils have been formed following a call for candidates.

Following the close of Nominations today (Tuesday 30 January 2024) the following 14 Community Councils have successfully formed.

They are:

  • Balintore and Hilton 
  • Cawdor and West Nairnshire
  • Cromdale and Advie 
  • Dalneigh and Columba 
  • Dalwhinnie 
  • Dulnain Bridge 
  • Grantown On Spey and Vicinity 
  • Merkinch 
  • Muir of Ord 
  • Nairn West and Suburban 
  • Resolis 
  • Small Isles 
  • Stromeferry and Achmore 
  • Tain 

The following eight Community Councils have received more nominations than vacancies available.

  • Ballachulish
  • Creich
  • Dornie and District
  • Golspie
  • Nigg and Shandwick
  • Sleat
  • Sunart
  • Waternish

Candidates have the option to withdraw their nomination by 12noon on Tuesday 6 February 2024.  If there are still more nominations than the maximum membership, then a postal ballot will be held.  Ballot papers will be posted out to voters and the results will be declared on Tuesday 19 March 2023.

Nine Community Councils failed to form as the total number of validly nominated candidates was less than the minimum number required and so the following will now be dissolved:

  • Ballifeary 
  • Bower 
  • Carrbridge 
  • East Nairnshire 
  • Glendale 
  • Inver 
  • Muirtown 
  • Portree 
  • Smithton 

Further information including statements of persons nominated for each Community Council will be published on the Council’s website -



30 Jan 2024