Postal Packs issued for Inverness By-Election

Logo for ward

Issued on behalf of the Returning Officer

A total of 3,396 postal vote packs for the Ward 19 Inverness South by-election have been posted out. The Highland Council is advising postal voters to read the instructions carefully when completing their statement and ballot paper to ensure their vote counts.

The postal pack contains:

•           Envelope A / Postal Voting Statement

•           Ballot paper

•           Return envelope (Envelope B)

•           A guide to completing your postal vote

There is advice and a short video clip explaining how to correctly complete and return your postal ballot on the Council’s website 

Anyone who has requested a postal vote will not be able to vote in person at a polling station. If you are unable to post your postal pack in time, it is possible to hand it into a polling station within the ward between the hours of 7am and 10pm on the day of poll –(Thursday 11 April 2024).  The list of polling stations can be viewed on the council’s website 

If you haven’t received your postal pack on or after Tuesday 2 April 2024, please telephone 01349 886657 for a replacement pack.

Those voters who will be casting their votes in person at a polling station should have received a poll card that details which polling station they should go to. The Highland Council is asking everyone to check their poll card carefully as their local polling station location may be different to previous elections.

Voters are reminded that the single transferable vote system will be used. Instead of using a cross, voters should number the candidates in the order of their choice, putting a number 1 in the voting box next to the name of the candidate who is their first choice, 2 in the voting box next to their second choice and so on. Voters can mark as many choices as they wish. Voters are asked to put no other mark on the ballot paper as this could result in their vote not being counted.

The candidates standing are:

  • CHARTIER Jonathan - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • DUNCAN Jimmy - Alba Party
  • FORBES Ryan - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • MACDONALD Andrew - Sovereignty
  • MCDONALD Duncan Cameron - Independent
  • SHANKS Gordon - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • SHARMA Arun - Scottish Green Party
  • STEVENSON Ron - Scottish Labour Party

To listen to the audio version of the Candidates as they appear on the Ballot Paper please dial 01349 886657 option 3.

2 Apr 2024