Industrial Action

Services provided by The Highland Council have been disrupted today (Wednesday 20) by industrial action, which is part of nationwide action by Unite the Union, GMB and Unison members in respect of the National Pay Award.

The known disruption is –

Service Points:
Closed (20):
Church Street, Inverness; Hilton, Inverness; Dingwall, Fortrose, Lochcarron, Kinlochleven, Dunvegan, Tain, Ullapool, Broadford, Kyle, Thurso, Bettyhill,  Brora, Dornoch, Lairg, Nairn, Grantown, Kingussie, Fort William.

HQ Cash Office:

Closed (5):
Dingwall, Portree, Fort William, Thurso and Wick.
A limited service will be provided at Inverness.

Refuse Collection/bulky uplifts:
There will be no refuse collection, kerbside recycling or bulky uplifts on Wednesday. Residents should NOT put their bins out that day. Normal refuse collection will be the following Wednesday. The public is urged to use recycling centres to dispose of surplus waste when they reopen on Thursday 21 August.

Recycling Centres:

No burials or cremations.

The Corran Ferry linking Nether Lochaber to Ardgour did not operate.

Secondary Schools (17)
Alness Academy, Charleston Academy, Inverness, Culloden Academy, Inverness, Gairloch High - S 1-3; Grantown Grammar, Kilchuimen Academy, Kingussie High, Kinlochbervie High, Fort Augustus, , Lochaber High, Millburn Academy, Inverness, Nairn Academy, Plockton High, Portree High, Tain Royal Academy, Thurso High S 1-3, Ullapool High, Wick High.
There will be no canteen facilities at Fortrose Academy.
There will be no Additional Support Needs pupils attending Gairloch High, while Drummond School, Inverness, and St Clement's, Dingwall are both closed
The new Kinlochleven High is not due to open until Friday.

Primary Schools: (24)
Aviemore, Beauly, Brora, Coulhill, Alness, Cradlehall, Inverness, Dingwall, Dornoch, Golspie, Grantown, Halkirk, Park, Invergordon, Kilchuimen, Fort Augustus, Knockbreck, Tain, Millbank, Nairn, Miller Academy, Thurso, Mount Pleasant, Thurso, Obsdale, Alness, Pennyland, Thurso, Rosebank, Nairn, Smithton, Inverness, South Lodge, Invergordon, South, Wick, St Joseph’s RC, Inverness, Tarradale.
Ardersier Primary – closing at noon,
Central, Inverness is open to P 4-7 only

Nursery Schools (44)
Bunsgoil Ghaidhlig Inbhir Nis, Arisaig, Auchtertyre, by Kyle; Auldearn, Ballachulish, Banavie, Bonar Bridge, Bridgend, Alness, Caol, Carbost, Cauldeen, Inverness; Central, Inverness; Conon Bridge, Cradlehall, Inverness; Deshar, Boat of Garten, Drakies, Inverness; Duncan Forbes, Inverness, Elgol, Skye, Fort William RC, Gairloch, Gledfield, Ardgay, Helmsdale, Hilton, Inverness, Hilton, East Ross, Inshes, Inverness, Inverlochy, Kyle, Kyleakin, Macdiarmid, Skye, Mallaig, Marybank, Maryburgh, Newtonmore, North Kessock, North, Wick, Plockton, Poolewe, Pulteneytown Academy, Wick, St Bride’s, Onich, Strathdearn, Struan, Skye, Tomnacross, Ullapool, Upper Achintore, Fort William.

Other ECS Facilities Closed:
Libraries: Alness, Badenoch, Bettyhill, Broadford, Dingwall (5-6pm), Fort William, Gairloch, Glenurquhart, Housebound Library, Invergordon Mobile Library, Inverness, Kyle, Mallaig, Moray Firth Mobile Library, Nairn, Portree, Thurso.
Swimming Pools: Lochaber Leisure, Fort William, Nairn Leisure, Portree (7-9pm),Thurso, Wick.

Community Facilities: Black Isle Education Centre; Charleston Community Complex, Inverness, Culloden Community Complex, Inverness, Golspie Youth Centre, James Cameron Community Complex, Inverness;
Limited service at Inverness Leisure.

Social Work:
Residential care will be maintained and home care will be provided to the most vulnerable but it is likely that domestic home care and domestic day care services will be affected on Wednesday. Some offices normally open to the public may also be affected.

Enquiries regarding emergency repairs to council houses and emergency homelessness should be directed to 0845 700 2005.


20 Aug 2008