170 Candidates to contest 22 Council multi-member wards

List of candidates

The elections for the 80 seats on The Highland Council, being held on Thursday 3 May, will involve 170 candidates contesting all of the 22 multi-member wards. 

The breakdown of candidates is as follows: - Independent,  49;  Scottish National Party (SNP), 33;  Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party, 22; Scottish Liberal Democrats, 18; Scottish Labour Party, 17; Scottish Christian Party “Proclaiming Christ’s Lordship, 9; Scottish Green Party, 4;  UK Independence Party, 3; the Labour and Co-operative Party, 2;  Scottish Liberal Democrat Focus Team, 2;  Scottish Anti-Cuts Coalition, 2, All Scotland Pensioners Party, 1; No description,8.

13 sitting councillors are not seeking re-election. They are: -

Caithness (2):
David Flear (Lib Dem), Landward Caithness;  Lady Thurso (Marion) (Lib Dem), Thurso.

Sutherland (1):
William (Ian) Ross (Lib Dem), East Sutherland and Edderton

Ross (1):
Jean Urquhart (SNP), Wester Ross, Strathpeffer and Lochalsh.

Skye (1):
John Laing (Ind), Eilean a´ Cheò.

Inverness (4):
Roy Pedersen (SNP), Inverness South;  Peter Corbett (Ind), Inverness Central;  John Finnie (SNP), Inverness Ness-side;  David Henderson (Lib Dem), Inverness Ness-side.

Nairn (1):
Sandy Park (Ind), Nairn.

Badenoch and Strathspey (1):
Stuart Black (Lib Dem), Badenoch and Strathspey

Lochaber (2):  Michael Foxley (Lib Dem), Fort William and Ardnamurchan;  Donald Cameron (Independent Alliance Group),  Fort William and Ardnamurchan.

There is no period for withdrawal of nominations.

Polling takes place on Thursday 3 May between 7 am and 10 pm and the count will take place on Friday 4 May at Inverness Leisure, Bught Park, Inverness.

The total electorate for the Highlands is 176,226.

In May 2007, the average turn out at the elections was 53.85%.

Results of the elections are due by early afternoon on Friday 4 May.
Full details of The Highland Council Election nominations can be found via the home page of the Council’s web site: www.highland.gov.uk


29 Mar 2012