Landward Caithness by-election result

By-election - Ward 4 Results 2013

PHOTO gallery of the count

The by-election for a councillor to represent the Landward Caithness Ward (No 4) on The Highland Council has been won by Matthew Reiss, who will join the Independent Group on the Council

Mr Reiss was one of five candidates who contested the vacancy, created by the resignation of Alex MacLeod. He joins Councillors David Bremner (Independent), Willie Mackay (Independent) and Gillian Coghill (Independent) in representing the Landward Caithness Ward.

Voting was by the single transferable vote and Mr Reiss emerged as the winner at the fourth stage of the count. He gained 1,150  of the 2,588 valid first preference votes cast. The quota was 1,295.  28 votes were rejected

The turnout was 29.9%

The other candidates were: Ed Boyter, Scottish National Party; Kerensa Karr, Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Tina Irving, Independent; Winifred Sutherland, Independent.

Mr Reiss, a former senior police officer, said: “I found the last three weeks of campaigning fascinating and an insight into the power of democracy.  It will be a huge privilege and I am incredibly proud to be representing Landward Caithness on the Council. I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who voted for me and supported me.”

The Highland Council is made up of 80 elected members.  The current representation is Independent 33, SNP 21, Liberal Democrats 14, Labour  8, Independent Nationalist 1, Non-aligned 2 with 1 vacancy for the Black Isle ward.


29 Nov 2013