Five candidates to contest Caol and Mallaig by-election

The candidates are: 

• William Keelie MacDonald, Scottish National Party (SNP)
• Liam Kevin Simmonds, UK Independence Party (UKIP)
• Ben Thompson, Independent
• Susan Wallace, Scottish Christian Party “Proclaiming Christ’s Lordship”
• Sandy Watson

The by-election will be held on Thursday 1 May with polling stations open from 7am-10pm. The count will take place the following day in Kilmallie Free Church starting at  9.30am.

The vacancy has arisen following the resignation of Councillor Eddie Hunter (Independent) who stood down from The Highland Council on 27 February this year.  He was one of three Councillors representing Caol and Mallaig. The other Ward members are Councillors Bill Clark (SNP) and Allan Henderson (Independent)

Anyone eligible to vote can apply for either a postal vote or to vote by proxy. The latest time to apply for a postal vote is 5.00pm on Monday 14 April and the deadline for anyone wishing to apply to vote by proxy is Wednesday 23 April.  Advice on postal and proxy voting is available by contacting the Electoral Registration Office on 0800 393783.

The Returning Officer for the by-election is Chief Executive of The Highland Council, Steve Barron. The Caol and Mallaig ward is one of 22 wards within the Highlands and has an electorate of 7087.

The Highland Council is made up of 80 elected members.  The current representation is Independent 33; SNP 21; Liberal Democrats 14; Labour 8; Independent Nationalist 1; Non-aligned 2; with 1 vacancy for Caol and Mallaig. 


27 Mar 2014
Tell us something about this topic How is this webpage?