Polling takes place this week for Caol and Mallaig By-election

On Thursday (1 May) voting begins in the Caol and Mallaig By-election with polling stations opening their doors at 7am and remaining open for voters until 10pm.

The electorate for the Ward is 7,087. Anyone who has applied for a postal vote who may not yet have posted their ballot paper is reminded that they can hand it in to any of the polling stations up until 10 pm on Thursday.

The polling stations are:

• Glenfinnan House Hotel
• Astley hall, Arisaig
• Lady Lovat primary school, Morar
• Mallaig & Morar community centre
• Inverie village hall
• Community learning room, Eigg primary school
• Kinlocheil Outdoor Centre
• Kilmallie Community Centre, Corpach
• Achnacarry Village Hall
• Glengarry and District community hall
• Spean Bridge Community Centre
• Roy Bridge Memorial Hall
• Caol Community Centre

The count will take place on Friday (2 May) at Kilmallie Free Church starting at 9.30am.

The candidates are:

• William Keelie MacDonald, Scottish National Party (SNP)
• Liam Kevin Simmonds, UK Independence Party (UKIP)
• Ben Thompson, Independent
• Susan Wallace, Scottish Christian Party “Proclaiming Christ’s Lordship”
• Sandy Watson

The current representation of the 80-member Council is: - Independent 33, SNP 21, Liberal Democrats 14, Labour 8, Independent Nationalist 1, Non-aligned 2 with 1 vacancy for the Caol and Mallaig Ward. 


28 Apr 2014
Tell us something about this topic How is this webpage?