Nominations sought for candidates wishing to stand in Nairn by-election

  • Nairn By-Election

A by-election is being held in Nairn on Thursday 7 May to find a successor to Councillor Colin Macaulay (SNP) who has stepped down.

Nomination papers are now available from The Highland Council Service Point in Nairn as well as from Completed nomination forms must be submitted to Liz Cowie, the Depute Returning Officer at the Court House, Nairn before 4.00 pm on Wednesday 1 April 2015.  

Polling will take place between 7 am and 10 pm on Thursday 7 May, the same day as the UK Parliamentary General Election unless the election is uncontested.

Anyone eligible to vote can apply for either a postal vote or to vote by proxy. The latest time to apply for a postal vote is 5.00pm on Tuesday 21 April 2015.  Tuesday 28 April is the deadline for anyone wishing to apply to vote by proxy. Advice on postal and proxy voting is available by contacting the Electoral Registration Office on 0800 393783.  

The Returning Officer is Chief Executive of The Highland Council, Steve Barron and the count will take place on Friday 8 May in Nairn.

Nairn is one of 22 wards within the Highland area and the electorate is 9,645. Colin Macaulay was one of four Councillors representing Nairn. The other Ward members are Councillors Laurie Fraser (Independent) , Michael Green (Independent) and Liz MacDonald (SNP)

The Highland Council is made up of 80 elected members.  The current political representation is Independent 34, Scottish National Party 20, Liberal Democrat 12, Labour 8 and Highland Alliance 5 with one vacancy for the Nairn Ward.

16 Mar 2015
Tell us something about this topic How is this webpage?