Five candidates contest Nairn by-election

Five candidates contest Nairn by-election

Five candidates are to contest the upcoming by-election to elect a councillor to represent Nairn on The Highland Council.

The candidates are:

  • Ritchie Cunningham - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Stephen Kenneth Fuller - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Chris Johnson - Scottish Labour Party
  • Mairi MacGregor
  • Paul Carlo McIvor -  Independent

The by-election is being held on Thursday 7 May after Colin Macaulay, one of four councillors for Ward 19, stepped down last month. The other three representatives are Councillors Laurie Fraser (Independent), Michael Green (Independent) and Liz MacDonald (Scottish National Party)

Polling will take place between 7 am and 10 pm on Thursday 7 May, the same day as the UK Parliamentary General Election.

Those intending to vote are reminded that the single transferable vote system is being used. Instead of using a cross, they should number the candidates in the order of their choice, putting a number 1 in the box next to the name of the candidate who is their first choice, 2 in the box next to their second choice and so on. Voters can mark as many choices as they wish. Voters are asked to put no other mark on the ballot paper as this could result in their vote not being counted.

Anyone eligible to vote in the by-election can apply for either a postal vote or to vote by proxy. The deadline to apply for a postal vote is 5.00pm on Tuesday 21 April 2015 and the deadline to apply to vote by proxy is Tuesday 28 April.

The Highland Council is made up of 80 elected members. The current political representation is Independent 34, Scottish National Party 20, Liberal Democrat 12, Labour 8 and Highland Alliance 5 with one vacancy for the Nairn Ward.

1 Apr 2015
Tell us something about this topic How is this webpage?