Evanton’s Shinning Light at the Ross and Cromarty Civic Awards

Roy Applegate from Evanton has been named “Citizen of the Year” during the Ross and Cromarty Civic Awards held last night (Tuesday 28 November) in Dingwall. During the event, hosted by Area Chairman Councillor Carolyn Wilson, 41individuals and 7 groups received recognition and were presented with Awards.

Roy, who has been an active member of Kiltearn Community Council for many years, was the instigator of the Christmas lights in Evanton which are greatly admired as they brighten up the dark nights and bring festive cheer to the village.  Until recently he took sole responsibility for maintaining the lights and for organising other volunteers to help put them up and bring them down. Before handing these duties he organised an extension to the lights so this year, thanks to Roy, the lights will be bigger and brighter.  

Before presenting him with his award, Councillor Carolyn Wilson said:  “Roy has served his community well for many years, using his organisation skills, good humour and practical support to benefit so many people. Without Roy, the village would literally be a duller place during the run up to Christmas as the colourful lights and magnificent tree cheers everyone up.  His willingness to get involved and to volunteer to help in so many ways over a long period of time makes him a true ambassador for Evanton. I am sure I speak for his community and everyone here tonight when I congratulate and sincerely thank him for all he has done.” 

Councillor Wilson went on to praise the work of everyone who received an award.  She said “These annual awards give us the opportunity to recognise people from all walks of life who have contributed to the success and wellbeing of their local communities. Often people work quietly behind the scenes without fuss and so the awards are the perfect opportunity to show our appreciation for all the hard work that goes in to ensuring the spirit of community is strong throughout Ross and Cromarty.”

Guests were entertained on arrival by the Ross and Cromarty Pipes and Drums School who were presented with a Musical Achievement Award.  Classical music during the meal was performed by young musicians from Tain, Dingwall and Fortrose. Alistair Greig, Fraser Stewart, Helen Fraser, Emma Donald, Robert Thompson and Kari MacLeod performed individually before also collecting musical achievement awards.

The Sporting Achievement Award went to two young sportsmen from the Black Isle – Magnus Davidson (15) and Donald Angus Ferguson. 

Magnus, who lives in Cromarty, earlier this year won the Scottish mountain bike cross country series and is currently ranked the third best youth in MTB British Cycling after constantly being in the top 5 at UK races.  Next year he competes for Scotland at the UK level and has his eye on the British Championships.

Donald Angus  (15) from Rosemarkie is a talented athlete and this year he represented Scotland in the under 17 boys school squad and took home an international bronze medal for the 400 metres.  Donald takes time out from his own demanding training schedule to coach other youngsters and pass on his skills and enthusiasm for all sports.

The Best Community Project Award went to Billy Mackenzie from Inver for the new planters, picnic benches and a “welcome” gateway into the village; Dingwall Skateboard Park Committee, Extreme Wheels for establishing the successful new park for the town; Barbara Peffers from Ullapool for the An Talla Solais art and exhibition project and Joan Michael from Ullapool for the Ullapool Book Festival.

The Young Entrepreneur Awards went to four owners of businesses in Alness, Cromarty and Ullapool. 

David Skea from Alness runs Fisherman Direct and recently won the Prince’s Trust and Royal Bank of Scotland Highland final for the best new business.  He will be competing in the regional finals against 5 other Scottish businesses in a few weeks time. 

John Lavelle and Lawrence Hughes from Ullapool were presented with an award for their business – North West Outdoor Limited which they set up in 2004.  It incorporates a thriving café into a shop selling a wide range of outdoor equipment and clothing.

Sarah Perne from Cromarty left University with a first class honours degree in Naval Architecture and Small Craft Engineering and has used the skills she has aquired working on boats around the world to set up her company Ecoventure which takes visitors on exciting trips across the firth to enjoy the wildlife and scenery.

The award for the Promotion of Tourism in Ross and Cromarty went to Robert Hicks from Ullapool for his work in setting up the successful Loopallu festival which this year attracted 3,000 visitors to the village.

The event was sponsored by Ross County Football Club, Tain Pottery and Glenmorangie Distillery and Falls of Shin.

Citizen of the Year Award:  Roy Applegate (Evanton)

Good Neighbour Award:
• Windsor Place Action Group (Conon Bridge)
• Joy Bisset (Fortrose)

Young Entrepreneur Award:
• John Lavelle and Lawrence Hughes from North West Outdoors Limited

• David Skea from Fisherman Direct

• Sarah Perne from Ecoventures in Cromarty

Musical Achievement Award:
• The Ross & Cromarty Pipes and Drums Schools
• Alistair Greig (Rosemarkie)
• Fraser Stewart (Munlochy)
• Helen Fraser (Muir of Ord)
• Emma Donald (Dingwall)
• Robert Thompson (Tain)
• Kari MacLeod (Tain)
• Richard Linsay (Ullapool)

Achievement In Sport Award:
• Magnus Davidson (Cromarty)
• Donald Angus Ferguson (Rosemarkie)

Best Recycling Project Award: 
• The Shieldaig Recycling Group

Best Community Project:
• Billy Mackenzie (Inver)
• Dingwall Skateboard Park Committee
• Barbara Peffers from Ullapool for the An Talla Solais project
• Joan Michael for the Ullapool Book Festival

Promotion of Tourism in Ross & Cromarty Award: 
• Robert Hicks (Ullapool)

Promotion and Encouragement of Community Safety
• Dochcarty Residents Association (Dingwall)

Promotion of Healthy Living Award:
• Roger & Fiona Timmins (Inverasdale but now living in New Zealand)
• Jo Scott and Laura Shirra from Ullapool Fairtrade Group

Service To The Community Award:
• William Hogg (Cromarty);
• Anne-Marie Ramsay (Alness);
• Thomas L Thomas (Maryburgh);
• Kenneth Aitken (Portmahomack);
• Stuart Nairn (Inverasdale);
• Duncan McLeod (Jamestown);
• Arthur and Anne Lobban (North Kessock);
• Owen Smith (North Kessock);
• Carol Whyte (Munlochy);
• Anne MacIver (Easter Blairfoid);
• Lilian Lockhart (Evanton);
• Anna MacNeil (Tain);
• Beryl Kirkwood (Tain);
• Munlochy Fun Committee;
• North Kessock Hall Committee;
• Evanton Fundraising Group – Anne MacDonald, Sheena Davidson; Irene Campbell & Annik Mowat; 


28 Nov 2006