Aird and Loch Ness Ward by-election date announced

Issued on behalf of Senior Deputy Returning Officer

The Highland Council has announced a date for the Council’s Ward 13: Aird and Loch Ness by-election following the resignation of Councillor Drew Hendry (SNP).

Ward 13 is a four-member ward. The other members are Helen Carmichael (Independent), Margaret Davidson (Independent) and Hamish Wood (Scottish Liberal Democrat).

Councillor Hendry has stood down from The Highland Council following his election as Member of Parliament for the Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey constituency at the UK Parliament.

The Notice of Election will be published on Thursday 20th August 2015. The by-election will be held on Thursday 8 October with the votes counted the following day.

The current political representation of the Council is: Highland Alliance (5); Independent (32); Labour (8); Liberal Democrat (11); Scottish National Party (20); Non-aligned (3).

27 Jul 2015
Tell us something about this topic How is this webpage?