Five candidates contest by-election

Five candidates are to contest the upcoming by-election to elect a councillor to represent the Aird and Loch Ness Ward of The Highland Council.

The candidates are:

  • George Cruickshank, Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Jean Mary Elizabeth Davis - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Emma Ann Knox – Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Zofia Fraser- Independent
  • Vikki Tania Trelfer - Scottish Green Party

The by-election is being held on Thursday 8 October after Drew Hendry, one of four councillors for Ward 13, stepped down after he was elected as an MP for the Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey Constituency. The other three representatives are Councillors Helen Carmichael (Independent), Margaret Davidson (Independent) and Hamish Wood (Liberal Democrat)

Polling will take place between 7 am and 10 pm on Thursday 8 October and votes will be counted in Phipps Hall, Beauly the following day.

Those intending to vote are reminded that the single transferable vote system is being used. Instead of using a cross, they should number the candidates in the order of their choice, putting a number 1 in the box next to the name of the candidate who is their first choice, 2 in the box next to their second choice and so on. Voters can mark as many choices as they wish. Voters are asked to put no other mark on the ballot paper as this could result in their vote not being counted.

Anyone eligible to vote in the by-election can apply for either a postal vote or to vote by proxy. The deadline to apply for a postal vote is 5.00pm on Wednesday, 23 September 2015 and the deadline to apply to vote by proxy is Wednesday, 30 September 2015.

7 Sep 2015
Tell us something about this topic How is this webpage?