Plans well underway for the 2015 National Gaelic School's Debate

Issued by National Gaelic Schools Debate Competition Organising Committee

Read this in GAELIC

The announcement of the preliminary rounds of the National Gaelic Schools Debate competition, formerly known as the BT Scotland Gaelic Schools’ Debate, has been made and the 2015 competition looks set to be another excellent year!   The first two rounds will again be held in Stornoway, on the Isle of Lewis, on Tuesday the 4th and Wednesday the 5th of November 2015.  The competition, which was the recipient of the ‘Best Event’ award at last year’s Gaelic Awards, continues to attract schools from across the country.  

Twenty teams from eighteen schools are due to compete in the 2015 competition.   This year, for the first time, all the schools will participate in debates over the two days, with the four teams with the highest points, across the two days, will progress to the final stages which will be held in Edinburgh on Tuesday and Wednesday the 24th and 25th of November 2015.   The draw for Round One is as follows:

  • Dingwall Academy V James Gillespie’s High School B 
  • Inverness Royal Academy V Glasgow Gaelic School 
  • Tain Royal Academy V Ardnamurchan High School 
  • Oban High School V Mallaig High School 
  • Bishopbriggs Academy V The Nicolson Institute B 
  • The Nicolson Institute A V Lionacleit School 
  • Portree High School V Castlebay Community School 
  • James Gillespie’s High School A V Sir E Scott School 
  • Gairloch High School V Hazlehead Academy 
  • Dunoon Grammar School V Lochaber High School

Calum Iain Macleod, Director of Development at Comunn na Gàidhlig, and Chairman of the National Gaelic Schools’ Debate Management Committee commented:

“In this the 17th year of the competition we are delighted to have been able to secure funding to enable us to continue.   I would, in particular, like to thank the following for their contribution: Bòrd na Gàidhlig, The Scottish Executive, Stòrlann Nàiseanta na Gàidhlig, Skills Development Scotland, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, The Highland Council, Argyll and Bute Council, Glasgow City Council, SCILT (Scotland’s National Centre for Languages), Education Scotland and North Lanarkshire Council.  Following the success of the 2014 Debate which saw Ella Scarr and Megan Dale of Dingwall Academy emerge as the worthy winners, an extremely high level of competition was set and we look forward to another year of interesting and thought provoking debates.”

Assistance for the 2015 National Gaelic Schools’ Debate has come from Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, Comunn na Gàidhlig, BBC Alba, The Highland Council, MG ALBA and Pròiseact nan Ealan.

10 Sep 2015
Tell us something about this topic How is this webpage?