Aird and Loch Ness by-election result

photo of new cllr
Steve Barron, Returning Officer congratulates Jean Davis

The by-election for a councillor to serve Ward 13 – Aird and Loch Ness on The Highland Council has been won by Jean Mary Elizabeth Davis (Scottish Liberal Democrats).

Jean Davis was one of five candidates, who contested the vacancy, created when former Councillor, Drew Hendry, was elected as MP for the Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey Constituency at the UK Parliamentary General Election in May.

The other Ward 13 members are Councillors Helen Carmichael (Independent), Margaret Davidson (Independent) and Hamish Wood (Liberal Democrats).

Voting was by the single transferable vote and Jean Davis emerged as the winner at the 4th and final stage of the count, gaining 1,511 votes against second place Emma Knox with 1,167 votes. 

The turnout was 32.35%.

The representation of the 80-member Council now is Independent, 32; Scottish National Party 20; Liberal Democrat 12; Labour 8; and Highland Alliance 5; and 3 Non-aligned.

The other candidates were:

  • George Cruickshank –Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Zofia Fraser – Independent
  • Emma Ann Knox - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Vikki Tania Trelfer – Scottish Green Party
9 Oct 2015
Tell us something about this topic How is this webpage?