Highland nominations for Scottish Parliamentary Election 2016

Issued on behalf of the Returning Officer, Highland.

A total of 13 candidates are seeking election on Thursday 5 May 2016 in the three Scottish Parliamentary local constituencies for Highland.

Caithness, Sutherland and Ross constituency has attracted 4 candidates; Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch constituency, 5 candidates; and Inverness and Nairn constituency, 4 candidates.

Candidates in each of the three local constituencies are as follows:

Caithness, Sutherland and Ross

  • FRANCHETTI, Leah Esther - Scottish Labour Party
  • MACKIE, Struan - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
  • ROSS, Gail Elizabeth - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • STONE, Jamie - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch

  • CAMPBELL, Ronnie – Independent
  • FORBES, Kate - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • MACLEAN, Angela Margaret - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • MUNRO, Robbie - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
  • STEWART, Linda - Scottish Labour Party

Inverness and Nairn

  • CADDICK, Carolyn Ann - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • EWING, Fergus Stewart - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • MOUNTAIN, Edward - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
  • STEWART, David - Scottish Labour Party

In the Highland and Islands regional constituencies a total of 9 parties and 1 independent candidate are seeking election to Caithness, Sutherland and Ross, Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch, Inverness and Nairn, Shetland, Orkney, Moray, Argyll and Bute, Na h-Eileanan an Iar.

They are:

  • RISE – Respect, Independence, Socialism and Environmentalism
  • Scottish Christian Party “Proclaiming Christ’s Lordship
  • Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
  • Scottish Green Party
  • Scottish Labour Party
  • Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Solidarity - Scotland's Socialist Movement
  • UK Independence Party (UKIP)
  • Independent candidate - James Wilson Stockan

Voting will take place between 7am and 10pm on Thursday 5 May at 283 polling stations. The count will take place overnight, starting as soon after 10 pm as possible at the Highland Football Academy, Victoria Park, Dingwall. Steve Barron, Chief Executive of The Highland Council is the Returning Officer for the three local constituencies.

Electors in the Highlands heading to the polls on Thursday (5 May) are being reminded of the procedure to follow in completing their ballot papers. Electors will be given two ballot papers.

For the 3 Highland local constituencies – Caithness, Sutherland and Ross, Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch, Inverness and Nairn electors will receive a lilac coloured ballot paper to elect their constituency member. Electors should mark one cross (X) in the box opposite the name of one candidate. The candidate with the most votes wins.

As well as returning a Member of the Scottish Parliament in their constituency, electors will be asked to complete a ballot paper to elect 7 additional members from the Highlands and Islands Regional List to the Scottish Parliament. The regional ballot paper is peach coloured. On the regional ballot paper, electors vote for a party to represent the region. Voters should mark a cross (X) once in the box opposite the name of one party.

For further information about the forthcoming Scottish Parliamentary election visit Highland Council’s website www.highland.gov.uk/SP16

1 Apr 2016