Closed Circuit Television (CCTV)

CCTV cameras in Highland

We believe that effective CCTV services are vital in tackling crime, disorder and anti-social behaviour. CCTV also assists in effectively managing traffic. 

In partnership with Police Scotland (Highland Division), we operate CCTV systems in the following locations:

  • Inverness
  • Fort William
  • Nairn
  • Tain
  • Invergordon
  • Dingwall
  • Muir of Ord
  • Wick
  • Thurso
  • Alness

There are currently 146 public space CCTV cameras in operation. Evidence is retained for a minimum period of 13 days and maximum of 31 days. After this period the images are destroyed.

Code of Practice for the Operation of Highland Public Space CCTV Network

View the Code of Practice for the Operation of Highland Public Space CCTV Network.

The Information Commissioner's Office (ICO) has issued a Code of Practice for users of public area CCTV systems. For more information, please visit the ICO's website.

Access camera footage

The camera movements are strictly controlled and are limited by the Human Rights and Data Protection Act. The CCTV network in Highlands is operated with due regard to the principle that everyone has the right to respect for his or her private and family life and their home.

Any individual wishing to view footage that was recorded through the Highland Public Space CCTV that may relate to them, may do so by making a subject access request to Police Scotland.

For more information, please visit Police Scotland - Access to information.

Related Downloads