Candidates confirmed for General Election 2017


Issued on behalf of the Returning Officer, Highland Council Chief Executive, Steve Barron.

15 candidates are seeking election on Thursday 8 June for the three Highland UK Parliamentary General Election constituencies.

Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross constituency has attracted 4 candidates; Ross, Skye and Lochaber constituency 6 candidates; and Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey constituency 5 candidates.

Candidates in each of the three constituencies are as follows:

Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross

  • Olivia Bell - Scottish Labour Party
  • Struan Mackie - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Paul Monaghan -  Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Jamie Stone - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Ross, Skye and Lochaber

  • Ian Blackford - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Ronnie the Crofter, Campbell - Independent
  • Jean Davis - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Robert Mackenzie - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Peter Ó Donnghaile - Scottish Labour Party
  • Stick Sturrock - Something New

Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey

  • Donald MacLeod Boyd - Scottish Christian Party “Proclaiming Christ’s Lordship”
  • Ritchie Cunningham - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Drew Hendry - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Mike Robb - Scottish Labour Party
  • Nicholas Tulloch - Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Registering to vote:

To vote in the 2017 election you must be aged 18 or over and your name must be on the electoral register. You can register to vote online at If you’re already registered to vote and haven’t moved since, you don’t need to re-register. The registration deadline is midnight on Monday 22 May 2017.

Anyone who would like more information on registering can get in touch with the Electoral Registration Officer, Moray House, 16-18 Bank Street, Inverness  IV1 1QY Phone: 0800 393783 Email:

Voting by post or by proxy:

In this election you can opt to vote in person, by proxy or by post. The deadline to apply for a new postal vote or a postal proxy application or to change an existing postal or proxy vote is Tuesday 23 May. The date to apply for a proxy vote to appoint someone to vote on your behalf at a polling station is Wednesday 31 May. Forms can be downloaded from or

Polling Day:

Voting will take place on Thursday 8 June with polling stations across the Highlands open from 7am to 10pm. The votes will be counted overnight at the Highland Football Academy in Dingwall.

Further information on the UK Parliamentary Election including statement of persons nominated in the three Highland constituencies can be viewed on the council’s website


11 May 2017