Results of Community Council interim elections

Full details available here

Four Highland community councils are able to continue operating following recent interim elections while postal ballots will take place to decide membership of a further two Community Councils .

Nominations were invited from 23 January to 7 February 2018 for persons seeking election to Community Councils serving Acharacle, Applecross, Dunnet and Canisbay, Holm, Laggan, Smithton and Culloden, Staffin and Waternish.

Following the close of Nominations today at 4pm (Wednesday 7 February) both Applecross and Dunnet and Canisbay Community Councils received more nominations than their maximum membership, which means that postal ballots to decide their membership will be held.

The following four Community Councils attracted more than half the maximum membership, allowing them to form

  • Acharacle Community Council 
  • Holm Community Council
  • Smithton and Culloden Community Council
  • Waternish Community Council

All candidates have up until 4pm on Friday 9 February to withdraw their nominations and must notify the appropriate ward manager in writing by email. 

Laggan Community Council and Staffin Community Council did not establish as they both failed to attract half the maximum membership.



7 Feb 2018
Tell us something about this topic How is this webpage?