Community Council elections

Community Councils

Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils

Community Councils are voluntary organisations that act as a voice for their local area. They express the views and concerns of local people within their area on a wide range of issues.

For more information, please refer to the Frequently Asked Questions or view the Community Council page

We are responsible for running the Community Council elections, which must be held every 4 years.  The maximum membership of each of the Highland Community Council’s is determined by the population it serves and varies from 7 to 13 members.

The notice of Election and Nomination Form to be completed for Candidates wishing to serve their local Community Council’s in the Highlands for the next four years is published below.

The notice of election was published on 23rd September and the deadline for submitting nomination papers has now been extended to 12 noon on Tuesday, 29 October 2019.

Those wishing to stand as a Candidate must reside within the Community Council boundary and must be a registered voter. Please contact the electoral registration office on 01463 703341 to check if you are registered voter for those 16 and above.

Are you over 16 and want a say on local issues affecting you and your community? We are looking for young people to stand in the Community Council elections. Watch this video 

Promotional materials have been prepared and are now being circulated locally in schools, libraries, service points, colleges and universities etc…

The statements of persons nominated for each community council will be published after 12noon on Wednesday, 30 October 2019.  Anyone wishing to withdraw their candidacy must complete the relevant form contained in the pack and return it by no later than 12noon on Friday, 1 November 2019.

A ballot will be held in instances where the number of nominations exceeds the maximum membership and ballot papers will be issued by post on Tuesday, 15 November 2019 and must be returned no later than Wednesday, 4 December 2019.

How is this webpage?

Related Downloads