UK Parliamentary Election

Members of Parliament (MPs) are elected using a First Past The Post System (FPTP).

The UK Parliament currently has a maximum 5-year life span, although the Prime Minister may request that the King calls a General Election at any time within the Parliament's lifetime and must be scheduled to be held before the end of 2025. 

Read further Information on the Dissolution and Calling of Parliament Act 2022.

The UK Parliamentary boundaries have been reviewed and the changes of the Boundary Commission for Scotland Reviews can now be downloaded.

View the page to have a look at which seats will change in the UK

The government has introduced new legislation (Election Act 2022) with among the changes, voter identification and improved voter accessibility at polling stations. 

  • Voters when voting in person at a polling station must show photo ID prior to be issued with a ballot paper.   Voter ID is not required for any postal voters or postal proxy voters.
  • Voters with disabilities will be given extra support at polling stations and anyone over the age of 18 will be able to accompany a disabled voter at a polling station. 

This legislation is only applicable to UK Parliamentary elections and not for any of our devolved Scottish Elections.

Voter IDs for future UK General Elections

2019 Results

Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey

  • Candidate - Drew HENDRY
  • Party - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Total Votes Obtained - 26,247

Ross, Skye and Lochaber

  • Candidate - Ian BLACKFORD
  • Party - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Total Votes Obtained - 19,263

Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross

  • Candidate - Jamie Hume STONE
  • Party - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Total Votes Obtained - 11,705

Previous general election results and useful election statistics going to back to 2010 can be viewed.