Scottish Parliamentary Elections

Scottish Parliamentary Election 2021

An election will be held on 6 May 2021 to elect Members of Scottish Parliament (MSPs) to the Scottish Parliament.

There are currently 129 elected members in the Scottish Parliament at Holyrood, of which 73 are constituency members and 56 are list members.

Elections to the Scottish Parliament are carried out using the Additional Member Voting system. This voting system combines the traditional First Past the Post system (FPP) and Proportional Representation (PR).

Everyone in Scotland is represented by 8 MSPs:

  • One for their constituency e.g. Caithness, Sutherland and Ross
  • Seven for the larger region in which they live e.g. Highlands and Islands

There are currently 3 Parliamentary Constituencies in the Highland Council area.

You can currently vote to return a constituency MSP for:

  • Caithness, Sutherland and Ross
  • Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch
  • Inverness and Nairn

and List MSP's for the Highlands and Islands Region.

The Highlands and Islands Region of The Scottish Parliament

The Highlands and Islands Region comprises:

  • Argyll and Bute
  • Caithness, Sutherland and Ross
  • Inverness and Nairn
  • Moray
  • Na h-Eileanan an Iar
  • Orkney
  • Shetland
  • Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch

Donna Manson is the Returning Officer for the 3 constituencies and is the Regional Returning Officer for the Highlands and Islands Region.

Information for voters

Information for candidates


Constituency and Regional Results

Click here for the 2021 Constituency and Regional Results


Pre-election guidance - Scottish Parliamentary Election 2021

Statutory Notices

Scottish Parliamentary Elections 2021: Statement by the Minister for Parliamentary Business

Previous election results