Community Council elections

Community Councils

Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils

Community Councils are voluntary organisations that express the views and concerns of local people within their area across a wide range of issues from new buildings and roads to local services and facilities.

The Elections Office is responsible for running the Community Council elections and Members are elected every four years to represent their Community council area. If there are less candidates than seats, then no election will be held. If membership of the community council falls to less than half, then the Community Council shall not operate until there are enough members.

The maximum membership of each of the 154 Highland Community Councils is determined by the population it serves and varies from 7 to 13 members.  For more information on the roles and responsibilities of a community councillor, please see our Community Council page

The last Community Council election was held in November 2015 and the next election is to be held in November 2019.  Interim elections may be held for Community Councils when the membership falls to below the minimum membership.

Interim elections – Thursday 8 March 2018

The resignation of some members have brought the community council’s down to below half of their memberships, and so therefore prompted interim elections to fill the vacancies.

Following the close of Nominations on Wednesday 7 November 2018,  the outcome was as follows.

Dunnet and Canisbay Community Council received more nominations than their maximum membership, which means that a ballot will take place by post.  Ballot papers will be posted out on Wednesday 21 February and must be returned no later than 12 noon on Thursday 8 March 2018.   The count will be held the following day.

5 Community Councils attracted more than half the maximum membership, allowing them to form

  • Applecross Community Council
  • Acharacle Community Council 
  • Holm Community Council
  • Smithton and Culloden Community Council
  • Waternish Community Council

Laggan Community Council and Staffin Community Council did not establish as they both failed to attract half the maximum membership

Copies of the Notice for each can be obtained here.

The next dates scheduled for Interim Community Council elections:

  • Thursday, 28 June 2018
  • Thursday, 1 November 2018

Previous results

Lochboom Community Council results

Tell us something about this topic How is this webpage?